E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  

Quick Library Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Note

Be sure to consult the Primary Sources tab in this Guide.  The list below stresses online resources.  There are typicallty many more in print and microform.

 

Primary Sources--United States


19th-Century U.S. Newspapers (from Milwaukee Public Library)
This resource is available to all residents of Milwaukee, including Marquette students who reside on or near campus.  You must have a valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) to gain free access to this subscription database.  It is strong in online Milwaukee newspapers from the late 19th century.

19th Century Masterfile
Although these is some full-text, this if primarily an index to nineteenth century periodical articles, information about books, newspaper articles, and government publications.  The core sources of this database are Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) and Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902). 

American Periodical Series
American periodicals from 1700 to 1900.  Coverage varies by title.  Titles also available in microfilm.

America's Historical Newspapers
Includes searchable American newspapers primarily from the 18th and 19th centuries.  Included here are Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Art Museum Image Gallery
The Art Museum Image Gallery is a digital resource of over 155,000 art images and related multimedia from distinguished museums around the world.  The images are rights-cleared for educational use.  Art from Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas spanning time from 3000 B.C. to the present is included.

Black Studies Center
The Black Studies Center is comprised of several databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, the full text of the Chicago Defender 1910-1975 an influential black newspaper, and Black Literature Index

Complete Civil War: Army, Navy, Maps, Medical on CD-ROM
This CD-ROM contains six official U.S. government sources on the history of the Civil War.  It is especially strong in military history.  Available only through computers in Raynor Library.

Early American Imprints Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Also known as the "Evans Bibliography". Full text database of publications from colonial America and the early republic (1639-1800).  Users can do a field searches—author, title, genre, place of publication, publisher —as well as keyword queries in the full text. 

Everyday Life and Women in America, 1820-1900
Contains over 650 primary digital documents.  The collection of periodicals, broadsides, books, and pamphlets encapsulates more than a century of social, cultural and historical documentation of American life. 

Hearings before the President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy
This CD-ROM contained the report of the Warren Commission into the Kennedy assassination.  Available only on computers in Raynor Library.

Historic Documents
Reviewing each year’s major events since 1972, Historic Documents reproduces official public statements; noteworthy court decisions; reports by governmental agencies, including some from the United Nations; special studies by public and private groups; and speeches by prominent figures. 

Lexis Nexis Congressional
Includes text and status of Congressional bills; information about members of Congress and their districts, text of prepared statements before Congressional hearings, text of National Journal articles, and text of Congressional Record and Federal Register.  Index coverage is 1970 to present.  Full text coverage varies.  The Law School has an expanded version that contains the full-text of all Congressional publications from 1789 through 1969.

Making of America: Cornell University
Offering primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this site includes nineteenth-century books and journal articles on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.  These are different sources from MOA below.

Making of America: University of Michigan
Offering primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this site includes nineteenth-century books and journal articles on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.  These are different sources from MOA above.

MARQCAT
This link takes you to the Subject search function in our catalog.  Subject searches use Library of Congress categories.  To find primary sources on the history of any country enter the name of the country followed by history and sources, as in: 
united states history sources.  See the Primary Sources tab in this Research Guide for more information.

Mary Ferrell Foundation (JFK Assassination)
The Mary Ferrell Foundation hosts the largest electronic archive of information covering the assAssassination of President John F. Kennedy, subsequent investigations, and the historical context of the time period. 

New York Times 1851-2001
Index and full text with images of newspaper articles.

Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
This project interweaves the histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line during the era of the American Civil War.  It combines a narrative and an electronic archive of the sources on which the narrative is based

Web Sites--United States
Some of these Web sites contain primary sources.  You can also move your cursor over the drop-down arrow on the United States tab and click on Web Sites..
.

 


     

 

Librarian

Profile ImageJohn Jentz, Research Services Librarian
Contact Info:
Raynor Library, 1355 W. Wisconsin Avenue, P.O. Box 3141, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
Phone: 414-288-5969
FAX: 414-288-8821
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Philosophy, Theology

 

This Day in History

From Encarta


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait