Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556
United States: Web Sites
African-American Mosaic
The Library of Congress's gateway into its collections on African-American history provides acccess to books, periodicals, prints, photographis, music, film, and recorded sound. Its sources cover 500 years of history.
American Family Immigration History Center at Ellis Island
This massive government-supported site contains the records of 22 million passengers and ship crew members who passed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924. Free registration is required to use the database.
American Indian History and Culture: H-AMINDIAN
A joint project of H-NET and Arizona State University, this site offers a gateway into its subject, incliding links, discussion lists, book reviews, and news of the field.
"American Memory Project" of the Library of Congress
This huge database includes photos, sound recordings, film, and texts on American history from the Library of Congress's unparalleled collections. The various collections in American Memory are individually catalogued in MARQCAT.
American Revolution: National Discussions of our Revolutionary Origins
Created by H-NET to complement a PBS series, this site offers a selected bibliography, scholarly essays, maps, images, documents, and secondary sources. Also includes links to colonial history.
American Women's History: A Research Guide
This is an excellent bibliographical guide for graduate students and advanced undergraduates. Contains citations for sources only in print as well as links to Web sites. It also has sections on strategies for finding additional material.
Annotated Constitution
Contains annotated references to Supreme Court decisions about the meaning of the constitution, arranged by constitutional provisions.
Asian-Americans: Ancestors in the Americas
This companion to a PBS series provides sites on the history of Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Pacific Islander, and Southeast Asians who settled in the New World.
Census Data Browser
The University of Virginia Libraries have created an easily browsed site providing census data on the people and economy of each state and county from 1790 to 1960.
Center for Military History
The army's extensive site has a well organized bibliography on all aspects American military history. Also included are finding aids and references to related Web sites.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
The Library of Congress plans to provide access to documents and debates of Congress from 1774 to 1875.
Children in Urban America
A project based at Marquette's History Department produced this site. It provides primary sources from over 150 years on children in Milwaukee. Bibliographies are also included. For scholarly and general users.
Civil War Center at LSU
This comprehensive site on the American Civil War provides access to archives, biographies, documents, and other Web sites.
Documenting the American South
Based at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site offers primary source materials "documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners." It includes diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, travel accounts, and narratives on slavery.
Gilded Age and Progressive Era
The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (H-SHGAPE) provides a gateway to American history between 1877 and 1918. Its links are to both primary and secondary sources.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Paul Halsall of Fordham University provides links to general history pages, collections of textual material, museums, and archives. Some of this material is difficult to find on most U.S. history sites.
Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
Designed to support a course at Penn State, this site provides an excellent collection of 1950s literature and iconography. Its resources range from posters to court cases, all of which can be searched by key word.
Making of America: Cornell University
Offering primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this site includes nineteenth-century books and journal articles on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. These are different sources from MOA below.
Making of America: University of Michigan
Offering primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this site includes nineteenth-century books and journal articles on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. These are different sources from MOA above.
National Archives
Gateway to the vast holdings of the Archives. Many items can be retrieved electronically.
National Security Archive
Sponsored by George Washington University, this extraordinary site publishes digital versions of declassified government documents. This is not a U.S. government funded project.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
This is a Web version of the standard resource for finding manuscript materials. Its more up-to-date than the print edition.
NativeWeb
NativeWeb addresses the history and culture of indigenous peoples in the Americas, Europe, New Zealand, and Australia. Information is arranged by subject, geographic region, nation/people, language, education, law and legal issues, and literature.
Naval History Bibliography Series
The Naval Historical Center provides six bibliographies on all aspects of the U.S. Navy's history, including Desert Storm.
New Deal Network: the Great Depression and the Roosevelt Administration
Columbia University Teacher College has developed this guide for undergraduate research. It provides 700 articles, speeches, and letters organized by subject, date, and author. Also includes over 4,000 images.
Sixties Project and Viet Nam Generation
An excellent introduction to the sixties for undergraduates, this site offers a wide range of secondary and primary sources. The latter include an extensive set of personal narratives.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
This project interweaves the histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line during the era of the American Civil War. It combines a narrative and an electronic archive of the sources on which the narrative is based.
Vietnam War: Ed Moise Bibliography
This is a comprehensive annotated bibliography on all aspects of the Vietnam War, organized into broad subject cateogries. Its coverage begins in World War II.
Virtual Library: United States History
This excellent gateway sponsored by the University of Kansas provides an overview and guide to US history. Its numerous sites are divided into Research Tools, Historical Topics, and Chronological Periods.
Wars for Viet Nam, 1945-1975
This site contains invaluable primary documents, some of which are difficult to obtain any other way. It also includes bibliographies and descriptions of Vietnamese geography, history, and culture.
Wisconsin Electronic Reader
This site is brimming with primary sources and information on the history of Wisconsin. It is produced by the State Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin in honor of the state's Sesquicentennial.
Wisconsin Labor History Bibliography
Sponsored by the Wisconsin Labor History Society, this site provides an introduction to research on workers, unions, and work in Wisconsin. The bibliography can be arranged by author, title, subject, or location.
Librarian |
Raynor Library, 1355 W. Wisconsin Avenue, P.O. Box 3141, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
Phone: 414-288-5969
FAX: 414-288-8821
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Philosophy, Theology
This Day in History
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait