E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Sites             Print Page
  

Quick Library Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Mideast: Web Sites

Mideast and Mediterranean Including Ancient History

 

Digital Librarian: Middle East
Provides a very extensive list of online resources on all aspects of the the Middle East, including sites in numerous languages.  The list is worth a close look.  Similar to, but more extensive than, the WWW Virtual Library: Middle East (see below).

Islamic Studies, Islam, Arabic, and Religion
Prof. Alan Godlas of the University of Gerogia provides scholarly resources divided into twelve subject areas, such as maps, women, history, the Qur'an. He annotates his links.

MENALIB: Middle East Virtual Library
Over six international libraries, coordinated by the University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt-Halle, provide this virtual library of materials on the Middle East and North Africa.  Promises to be a major gateway.

Middle East North Africa Internet Resource Guide
This comprehensive guide to online resources on the Middle East had a convenient table of contents that will help you find relevant sites.  It is produced by Prof. Joseph W. Roberts, a political scientist at the University of Utah.

WWW Virtual Library: Middle East
Contains an extensive list of online resources on the contemporary Middle East, including sites on business, media, culture, history, and politics.

Ancient World

Diotoma: Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Both students and scholars can profit from this well-designed site, which includes bibliographies, essays, translations of texts, visual images, and couse syllabi on women and gender in the ancient world.

Exploring Ancient World Cultures
This site provides introductions to the Ancient Near East, Ancient India, Ancient Egypt, Ancient China, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Early Islam, and Medieval Europe.  Its essays and bibliographies are good overviews for undergraduates.

Oriental Institute: Map Series
The University of Chicago's prestigious Oriental Institute has put up maps of the ancient Near East including Egypt, Sudan, The Levant, Syria, Turkey, Iraq, and Iran.  The maps include archaeological sites, modern cities, and river courses.

Oriental Institute: Recommended Readings on the Ancient Near East
The Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago has set up a bibliography of introductory readings on the Ancient Near East.  They are grouped under Ancient Egypt, Ancient Nubia, and Ancient Mesopotamia.

Perseus Project
This highly-regarded site provides a gateway into classical studies, with a concentration on ancient Greece.  Its resources include guides to Greek art and archeology as well as to ancient Greek texts and scholarly literature.

Roman Empire in the First Century
This companion site to a PBS series provides information on everything from Roman divorce and marriage laws, to Caesar's murder to Ovid's poems.  Also contains a timeline and lesson plans.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageJohn Jentz, Research Services Librarian
Contact Info:
Raynor Library, 1355 W. Wisconsin Avenue, P.O. Box 3141, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
Phone: 414-288-5969
FAX: 414-288-8821
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Philosophy, Theology

 

This Day in History

From Encarta


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait