Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556
Europe: Web Sites
General and Transnational, including Middle Ages
ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies
Based at the University of Illinois-Urbana, this site covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, and selected government documents.
Cold War International History Project
Supported by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, this site publishes transcribed versions of documents from previously inaccessible archives in Russia, Eastern Europe, and China.
Eighteenth-Century Resources
This multi-disciplinary site provides a window into the culture and history of eighteenth-century Europe and America. You can search it by key word or explore subject categories such as art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science.
Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions
Compiled by Prof. James Chastain of Ohio University, this site contains articles written by scholars from around the world on the European upheavals of 1848. Entries include bibliographies.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
This site organizes its documents by two large sets--"Medieval and Renaissance" and then "Europe as a Super-national Region," followed by chronological listings for the continent's several countries. No country is missing, not even the Vatican, but the holdings on each varies greatly.
IEG Maps: Digital Maps on German and European History
The Institute of European History in Mainz, Germany, provides free downloadable historical maps on modern central European history.
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly materials on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and the Middle Ages (400-1500) published in over 300 journals since the 1840s. The site has ambitious plans for expansion.
Labyrinth
Georgetown University's sophisticated guide to medieval studies allows searching by key words and subject categories. It also has links to bibliographies, pedagogical resources, professional organizations, and online texts and images.
ORB: On-Line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Created by teachers, "ORB" includes an encyclopedia of peer-reviewed articles, as well as sources and guides for teaching, links to related Web sites, and primary sources especially useful in teaching.
World War I
The BBC has put up this huge, multi-media site. Of special interest are primary sources in the form of letters, radio clips, and newsreels.
World War II: Primary Documents
Southern Methodist University offers this collection of over 500 government documents on World War II. The site has a sophisticated search utility. Includes links to other sites.
France
Cataloque Collectif de France
Supported by the French Ministries of Culture and Education plus the Bibliotheque National de France, the CCFR allows searches by institution and by document. Currently information on 3,900 institutions is provided, and over two million documents can be searched.
Histoire de France: The WWW Virtual Library
This gateway is an excellent place to begin research. It organizes over 600 sites by historical periods, themes, and types of sources, such as gataeways, search engines, and databases. It also has links to libraries, archives, museums, and journals.
H-France Home Page
One of H-Net's many listservs, H-France offers e-mail discussion, course syllabi, bibliographies, links to Web sites, and a searchable archive of its discussions.
Napoleon Series
The International Napoleonic Society offers an attractive site with three major sections. "Military" provides encyclopedic coverage of battles. "Research" has bibliographies and articles. The third section reviews publications of all types, including electronic, on Napoleon.
Germany
H-German Home Page
In addition to its ongoing discussion, this listserv provides reviews, links to relevant sites, including archives, and some primary documents.
History of Germany: Primary Documents
Based at Brigham Young University, this site has an extensive set of primary documents, some translated into English. Its coverage begins with the fall of the Roman Empire.
Holocaust Memorial Museum
This well organized site by the United States Memorial Museum has an impressive number of archival materials available for downloading, including photographs. It also includes valuable teaching materials.
Primary Sources in German Research Libraries
This site provides links to freely accessible primary sources put on the Web by German Research Libraries. It is sponosred by the libraries of the University and State of Goettingen.
Virtual Library Geschichte
The most comprehensive gateway to German history, this site organizes its links by epoch, geography, and theme. Also included are descriptions of periodicals, a guide to history departments, and a database of the contents of journals and collections of essays.
Great Britain
British History From 1800 by BUBL Information Service
Maintained at Strathclyde University in Scotland, this gateway provides an annotated list of excellent sites from libraries, museums, universities, and organizations of educators. Highlights include an index to the Quarterly Review and a collection of over 52,000 images.
British Library
This homepage of The British Library introduces you to its catalog and other services.
British Newspapers Online
The British Library plans to offer selected portions of its immense historic newspaper collection to the public online. It started with seven dailes, such as the Daily News and Manchester Guardian. There's more to come.
British Official Publications Collaborative Reader
This collaborative project of numerous research libraries provides a catalog of 16,000 key official documents from 1833 through 1983. The project plans to provide locations and abstracts for all its documents as well as reproduce selected ones full-text.
H-Albion Home Page
Besides its ongoing e-mail discussion list, this site provides reviews, announcements, course syllabi, and links to related sites.
Victorian Web
This encyclopedia of 19th-century Britain offers essays, primary sources, time lines, bibliographies and images. Its excellent search engine makes it easy to use. See also the "Victoria Research Web" listed on the BUBL site noted above.
Italy
Medici Archive Project
This project is putting the archives of Medici Grand Duke Cosimo on the Web. Occupying almost a kilometer of shelf space, this huge archive has never before been catalogued or indexed.
World Wide Web Virtual Library - Italian History Index - Home Page
This site offers a wealth of sites organized by chronoloogy, geography, and topic. There are also guides to Italian search engines, libraries, universities, and maps.
Russia
H-Russia Home Page
Like other H-Net groups, H-Russia offers teaching aids including bibliographies, reviews, guides to links, and a searchable archive of its discussions.
Russian and East European Network Information Center
Based at the University of Texas at Austin, this site organizes its sources by country and type of information, such as Current News, Libraries & Archives, and Databases. It is excellent for the newly independent states formerly included in the Soviet Union.
Russian and East European Studies (REESWeb)
Comprehensive and well-maintained, this gateway based at the University of Pittsburgh offers information by type, country, and discipline, such as Government and Politics, Business, Economics, and Law.
Librarian |
Raynor Library, 1355 W. Wisconsin Avenue, P.O. Box 3141, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
Phone: 414-288-5969
FAX: 414-288-8821
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Philosophy, Theology
This Day in History
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait