E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Sites             Print Page
  

Quick Library Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Asia: Web Sites

General and Transnational

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
This comprehensive site is an excellent place to begin any online research on Asian subjects.  It conveniently breaks down its material by regions and individual countires.

AsiaSource
The Asia Society has built a comprehensive source for news and resources on Asian culture, business, politics, and history.  Historians should consult its "AsiaLinks" and then "Society & History."

Association for Asian Studies
The largest organization of academics studying Asia, the Association provides an online gateway to the field.  Be sure to click on the "Bibliography of Asian Studies Online" and "Links & Resources."

PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources
Supported by three large mid-western university libraries, this catalog of internet resources offers sophisticated search options.  All entries are annotated, and users can save entries and email them to themselves.

National Bureau of Asian Research
The Bureau is a non-profit organization promoting research on policy-relevant issues in Asia.  Its site has a searchable index of over 300 Asia-related research institutions as well as a fair number of full-text publications.

Central Asia

Central Asia Caucasus Analyst
Published by an institute affiliated with Johns Hopkins, this online journal aims to "link the business, governmental, journalistic and scholarly communities." Each issue has short articles, reports, and news.

Harvard Forum for Central Asian Studies
The Forum concentrates on the Central Asian countries formerly part of the Soviet Union.  Be sure to click on its gateway to the field located at the bottom of the first page—"The Central Asian Studies World Wide Website."

East and Southeast Asia

Bibliography of Japanese History up to 1912
This excellent bibliography was produced by Prof. Peter Kornicki of Cambridge University in 1996.

China Bibliography
Produced by Marilyn Shea of the University of Maine, this bibliography includes reference resources as well as links to sites organized by topics and ruling dynasties.

Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL) Homepage
Created by East Asian librarians in North America, this site contains useful "Guides to Research on East Asia."  When you look at them be sure to check out the online journals.

East and Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
Maintained by the University of Redlands, this site is easy to navigate, organizing its links by country and by political, historical, and cultural topics.  The annotations help in selection.

Korean History: A Bibliography
Produced by Kenneth R. Robinson of the University of Hawaii, this bibliography includes sources on political, economic, diplomatic, and cultural history. 

UCLA Center for East Asian Studies
Standing out on this site is its annotated guide to Asian Studies journals.  See also its links to statistics on Asia, K-12 curriculum materials, full-text historical documents, and films.

Women in Chinese History
Produced at the University of Maine, this bibliography organizes its entries alphabetically by author.

South Asia

Digital Dictionaries of South Asia
A consortium of universities is creating online dictionaries of 26 South Asian languages.  They can be downloaded for free.

Gateway to the Subcontinent: The Digital South Asia Library
Major libraries in the United States and South Asia, particularly India, are jointly creating online information sources on the region.  The project promises to build the main gateway for information on South Asia.

SARAI: South Asian Resource Access on the Internet
Sponsored by Columbia University, this site organizes its items by region, country, and current "hot topics"  It also has links to libraries, organizations journals and newspapers, as well as a directory of South Asia scholars

 

Librarian

Profile ImageJohn Jentz, Research Services Librarian
Contact Info:
Raynor Library, 1355 W. Wisconsin Avenue, P.O. Box 3141, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
Phone: 414-288-5969
FAX: 414-288-8821
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Philosophy, Theology

 

This Day in History

From Encarta


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Dilbert

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait