E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias, Guides, Companions, Handbooks             Print Page
  

Quick Library Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Online Collections of Reference Works--Multidisciplinary

  • Credo Reference: 100 online subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and more
  • Gale Virtual Reference:40+ online encyclopedias mostly for the humanities and social sciences. Includes several huge, multi-volume sets ...
  • Oxford Reference Online:175+ dictionaries and encyclopedias for subject areas and languages
  •  

    Find Your Reference Book

    Reference books have several different genres--encyclopedias, dictionaries, gazeteers, guides, atlases, handbooks, and companions.  Gazeteers are geographical dictionaries.  Handbooks or guides often introduce whole disciplines, such as the Harvard Guide to American History.  Companions address particular topics like the Cambridge Companion to Medieval Women's Writing.

    To find ones for your needs go to the Advanced Keyword Search Screen below.  Enter a genre in the first search window, such as encyclopedia.  In the second window try terms like these:  medieval or "middle ages".  Quotation marks get you those two words adjacent to each other in that order.  The OR gives you one, the other, or both.

    If you get too many hits enter a date range under "Limit to," for example 1990 to 2009.  Or limit the search to Raynor Reference Collection.  Some reference books are on the first floor or Raynor, but most are in Memorial.

     

    Search in MARQCAT for reference books

    MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

    Advanced Keyword Search

    Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
    Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

     
     

    All Reference, Not Just Encyclopedias etc.

    For online reference resources of all kinds see Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, . . .

     

    E-Reference by Region

    Move your cursor over the drop-down arrow on the tab for the region you want and click on E-Reference.

     

    Chicago Manual of Style

    Chicago Manual of Style
    This is the standard style manual for history papers.

    Try the
    Quick Guide for fast answers.

     

    Fr. Prucha's Guide

    Research Papers in History  Describes how to do research and cite sources.  It's in print and online.

     

    AHA Guide

    The AHA Guide to Historical Literature will get you started on any time period anywhere in the world.  The link is to both online and print versions.

     

    Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
    © 2008 Marquette University

    Description

      Loading content... please wait