E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Center for Research Libraries

CRL is a library for other libraries.  MU can borrow any of its rich and varied materials at your request.  Explore their holdings.

Center for Research Libraries

Explore CRL collections by topic

 

Guides to Manuscripts

ArchivGrid
   Searches the finding aids of manuscript collections at research institutions.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
   This is the Library of Congress's guide to manuscript collections across the country.

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Primary Sources in Print or Microform

Most primary sources at Marquette Libraries are in print or microform.  To find this material try the search strategies below.  Alter them to meet your specific needs.  Practice in the Advanced Keyword Screen below. For examples of online primary sources look under By Region to the right.  And never forget the way Cato ended his speeches to the Roman Senate, "Always check at the Center for Research Libraries!"  (See the box to the left.)

Historical Newspapers in the United States
   Marquette Libraries have several collections of historical newspapers.  Some are online, while others are on microfilm; but they are all cataloged individually in MARQCAT.  Enter the following in the first search box in the Advanced Keyword Screen:  "early american newspapers".  You use quotes to indicate that the words are a phrase; you want them next to each other in that order. Your search will give you over 200 newspapers.  Find more newspapers by a similar search on this:  "american periodical series".  These papers are online as well as on microfilm.

Women's Diaries 
   Go the the Advanced Keyword Screen below.  In each successive search box enter women then united states and then diar*.  The asterisk on the third term will get you both the singular and plural forms of diary.  You should get over 230 hits.  If you enter civil war in the fourth box you'll get over 50 hits.

For more sample searches see the box below the Advanced Keyword Screen.

 

Advanced Keyword Search Screen

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

 

More Sample Searches

French Revolution
   Take advantage of Library of Congress subject headings, particularly their category sources.  Change the first three search boxes to subject fields by clicking on the drop down arrow to the left of each box and selecting Subject.  In each successive box enter france then revolution and then sources.  You should get over 4,700 hits, because we own a huge collection of French revolutionary pamphlets on microfiche.  If you limit the search to English in the "Limit to" fields, you'll get over 40 hits. Using the Advanced Keyword Screen you can attach a Subject search on sources to any search.

Pamphlets in American History
   Marquette Libraries own a microform collection of over 17,000 pamphlets on American History.  In the top search box enter "pamphlets in american history".  (Quotes denote a phrase.)  Then in the search box below enter suffrage. You should get over 270 hits.  Try another term in the second box, for example, catholic* or socialism.  You can also search on a year, such as 1776.  Searching on the year will give you some false hits, but also good ones from that year.

Soviet Union
   One tactic is to do Subject searches on soviet union and sources, which will give you about 168 hits.  Add limits, such as Material Type microform.  That will give you about 5 hits, including three large sets of State Department documents on microfilm.  Another tactic is to search federal government documents, without using sources as a filter.  The Library of Congress applies the Subject sources rather narrowly, and historians would consider many government documents as primary sources that are not catalogued as such.  Do an Author search on united states and a Subject search on soviet union.  That will get you about 716 hits on documents produced by a large variety of federal agencies.  Add limits, such as an Any Field (Keyword) search on hearings.  You should get about 137 Congressional hearings.  Try other limits.  Or use the same strategy with great britain as an author.
   

 
 

By Region

Put your cursor over the drop-down arrow on the tab for the region you want.  Then click on Primary Sources.

 

Congressional Publications

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

Search Congressional publications since 1824.

 

This Day in History

From Answers.com


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait