Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Chemistry 1001 Research Paper  Tags: chemistry  

Help with the research paper for Dr. Ryan's Chemistry 1001 class.
Last update: Aug 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/Chem1Paper  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding the Articles             Print Page
  
 

Why Articles?

Articles are good sources for:

♦ current research on a topic
♦ coverage of very narrow topics
♦ coverage of current events
♦ contemporary accounts of past events and research


 
 

Where to Search

For the types of journals that Dr. Ryan recommends for this assignment (journals such as Nature, Science, and Chemical & Engineering News), we suggest the following databases:

 

Getting the Articles

The Libraries subscribe to over 24,000 journals, most in electronic format. There are a variety of ways to find out if the Libraries subscribe to the journals you need.

If you already have the citation to an article:

  • Use MARQCAT. Search by Title and enter the title of the journal, NOT the title or author of the article.

If you are looking at citations from within a database:

  • Use the FindIt@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things

    • Display a list of databases with links. This indicates the FindIt widget may have found a source for electronic copy of the article. Click on the link to determine if a full text option is located.
    • Display only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the catalog. The journal may be available in print or fulltext through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If the database record does not have the FindIt@MU icon, use the first method above: searching MARQCAT directly.  If neither method works to locate the article here, request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the article citation within some databases.

 

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait