HOPR 1953 Psychology in the News
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Psychology  Tags: psychology psychiatry assessment apa_style podcasts measurement  

Guide to information for the field of Psychology. This page is updated and added to frequently.
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Writing and Citation Guides             Print Page
  
 

Why Style?

According to Wikipedia, a Style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization."  Style Guides or Manuals can be very specific to the discipline you are writing in or some are sued across disciplines. A style guide generally covers everything about writing a document for publication from how to format the title page, to setting margins, to use of tables or figures, to how to cite your references.  The American Psychological Association has developed  such a guide which is the standard for the field of psychology and is used for many other disciplines as well.

Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Style_guide&oldid=202074962 

 

Why RefWorks?

See what ASU students say about RefWorks


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

NOTICE: Errors in APA Style Manual

The first printing of the 6th edition of The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (July 2009) is reported to contain several typographical errors.  The APA is providing errata sheets to insert in 1st printing copies and offering replacement 2nd printing copies.  See this publication from APA for more information:

Corrections to the First Printing

The Libraries' copies have the errata sheets inserted in the back of each volume.  Replacement copies will be obtained when available.

 

APA Style Manuals

  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
    Call Number: BF76.7 .P83
    Several copies are available in Memorial library for check out as well as one copy at the Reserve Desk, one copy in the Raynor Reference Collection and one copy at the Raynor Information Desk.
    NOTE! Please see above warning regarding errors in 1st printing.

  • APA style guide to electronic references
    Call Number: BF76.7 .P832 2007
    Outlines newly approved style rules for citing electronic sources. These rules are not covered by the Publication Manual. Several copies of this item are available in Memorial for check out as well as copies in the Reference collection, Reserve collection and at the Information Desk.
    Any MU student faculty or staff may download their own copy from our server. Click on the title above.

 

Citation Manager Software

Citation or Reference managers are software products which can store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in any style. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.

RefWorks

This Web-base citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription to the service. For more inormation and helpful guides go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page

EndNote Web

This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.

 

How to Import Google Scholar Into Refworks

Thanks to Alkek Library at Texas State University for this video.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait