Why background?
Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established information and can be used to:
• Find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
• Get the historical context and relationships to other topics
• Identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
• Find or verify data, facts, formulas
Topical Sources
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
- Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV-TR
- Encyclopedia of Adult Development
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
- Handbook of Addictive Disorders
- Handbook of Adolescent Psychology
- Handbook of Cross-cultural and Multicultural Personality Assessment
- Handbook of Culture & Psychology
- Handbook of Personality Disorders
- Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender
- More Sources
Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Resource - 2008 edition
ISBN/ISSN: 9780028659657
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition in 1979. Features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences,
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Call Number: Reference BF 31 E52
ISBN/ISSN: 0471239496
Provides broad coverage of the discipline, an essential, solid, and important reference work in psychology and behavioral science.
Oxford Companion to the Mind
Call Number: Reference BF31 .O94 2004
A classic, indispensable guide to the human mind.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology - Charles Spielberger, Ed.
Call Number: Reference BF 636 .E52 2004 v. 1-3
Encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology.
Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
Comprehensive accounts of the huge expansion of statistical methodologies in the behavioral sciences, highlighting new techniques and recent developments. Coverage includes neuroscience, behavioral genetics, decision science and cognitive science.
Handbook of psychology
Call Number: Reference BF 121 .H1955 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0471176699
Some volumes available electronically
Blackwell Handbook of Research Methods in Clinical Psychology
A comprehensive and contemporary treatment of research philosophies, approaches, tools, and techniques indigenous to industrial and organizational psychology.
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: Reference BF 31 .C65 2006
Covers all branches of psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, the neurosciences, and psychoanalysis.
Elsevier's Dicitonary of Psychological Theories
Contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts.
APA dictionary of psychology - Gary R. VandenBos, editor in chief
Call Number: Reference BF 31 .A63 2007
Presents the definitive information on the language of psychology.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait