HOPR 1953 Psychology in the News
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Psychology  Tags: psychology psychiatry assessment apa_style podcasts measurement  

Guide to information for the field of Psychology. This page is updated and added to frequently.
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HOPR 1953 Psychology in the News             Print Page
  
 

Popular Articles

Popular or mass media articles appear in magazines geared to the general public.  The general purpose of the publications is to entertain and inform.  As commercial enterprises, they also seek to generate revenue through advertising and subscriptions.

Characteristics of popular press articles:

  • May be anonymous
  • Author generally has journalism, not subject specialization
  • Vocabulary, sentence structure, and depth of concept geared to average reader
  • Sources may be poorly cited
  • Graphics and photos used for visual impact
  • Generally short in length
  • Advertising is prominent
 

Scholarly Articles

A scholarly article presents the deliberation, analysis, and synthesis of a professional body of inquiry. Within this broad definition, a research or empirical article reports the methods and findings of original, scientific study.

A research article generally has the following characteristics:

  • Authors have credentials appropriate for the research topic
  • Abstract or summary of the report
  • Statement of research thesis or hypotheses
  • Statement of problem, background and review of previous research
  • Explanation of methodology, subjects of study, etc.
  • Presentation of data or results
  • Discussion of data and what it means
  • Conclusions and suggestions for further research
  • Bibliography

Google Scholar

Searches the web for scholarly journal articles and books.  Cannot 'look inside' most subscription sources so use as a supplement to the Libraries' databases.


(search results open in a new window)
 

Locating Books

To locate books in Raynor Memorial Libraries, use:

To locate books in the Google book project:

Google Book Search
 

Popular Press Databases

The Libraries' general databases usually cover a spectrum of resources from popular to scholarly.  A few that may be useful for locating popular articles on a topic are:

  • Proquest Research Library  
    Indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals. It includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals.
  • Academic Search Complete  
    Provides full text for over 2,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more. Coverage varies by publication. Some full-text PDFs from 1985 to present.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic  
    Features a rich variety of full text sources providing up-to-date information on current events, business, law, and medicine. It includes regional, national, and international coverage.

Scholarly Journals Databases

The Libraries offer scholarly, research oriented databases in all disciplines.  A few useful databases for the Psychology discipline are:

  • Psychology in ProQuest  
      
    Indexes over 300 professional and scholarly periodicals related to psychology. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles; some full text and full image articles. Covers 1980s-present; some earlier years covered.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    The most comprehensive database for psychology research covers scholarly international literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles in more than 2000 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
  • MEDLINE  
      
    International coverage of over 3,800 journals in the fields of medicine, including psychiatry, public health, pharmacology, and clinical sciences. 1966 to present. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
 

Course readings, examples

Articles discussed in Library Session:

Happiness Flash. (2009, August). Self, 31(8), 107.

Laurence Roy Stains.  (2003, April). Lighten up. Men's Health, 18(3), 114-117.

Sharon Begley.  (2008, February). Happiness: Enough Already:The push for ever-greater well-being is facing a backlash, fueled by research on the value of sadness.. Newsweek, 151(06), 50.

Guidelines and other advice:

Kendra Van Wagner. Becoming a Consumer of Psychology. About.com

Evaluate: Criteria for Articles.  and Identify Sources: Using Articles from The Signpost. Raynor Memorial Libraries Web site. Marquette University.

 

About Authors

Finding information about an author's credentials and experience may require looking in a variety of sources.  Scholarly articles generally give some biographical information at the beginning or end of an article.  You can also use our guide to Biographical reference sources.  Don't hesitate to"Goggle' the person.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait