With the declining cost of digitization, a number of resources that could prove useful in the research of various topics are now available as audio, image or video files that can be accessed free on the Internet or through a database the library subscribes too.
This guide is intended to provide a sampling of resources that could prove useful in your research, including oral histories, archived news broadcasts and photos of items in various museum collections. It is by no means meant to provide an exhaustive list, but should provide a good sampling of useful starting points.
BE MINDFUL OF COPYRIGHT!!
Multimedia Resources at Marquette »
Marquette University curates a number of multimedia collections, these include:
- DVD and Videos in the Library's Collection
The library owns a plethora of DVDs and Videos ranging from feature films to documentaries. To look at a list of the videos in the catalog, go to MARQCAT and enter a SUBJECT search using the term "videos" or use the MARQCAT Form / Genre search to find videos. The collection is available at the Reserve Desk on the Lower Level of Raynor Library. Start searching »
- Haggerty Museum's photostream
Marquette's Haggerty Museum has a Flickr account in which they have posted a number of photos from their permanent collection as well as certain exhibitions. Learn more »
- Jean Cujé Milwaukee Music Collection
A unique collection of music in all formats recorded by artists in the Milwaukee area, gathered through donations and purchased to serve the local community. Materials include compact discs, cassettes, phonodiscs, videos and related items. Learn more »
- Special Collections and University Archives
There are 17 digital collections, featuring more than 10,000 photographs and more than 50,000 pages of printed materials on a variety of subjects. View the collections »
User Feedback »
Let us know your thoughs on this guide. Your feedback is always appreciated.