This is the "Cancer" page of the "Cancer" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cancer  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2010 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/cancer Print Guide Email Alerts
Cancer Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Living With Cancer

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Books

Cover Art
Anticancer : a New Way of Life
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC268 .S475 2008

Cover Art
Coping with Chemotherapy and Radiation
Call Number: eBook
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Cover Art
Fighting Cancer with Knowledge and Hope
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC263 .F695 2009

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RC254.5 .G353 2005

Cover Art
Learn to Live Through Cancer: What You Need to Know and Do
Call Number: Ordered 1/6/12

Cover Art
Lung Cancer: the Facts
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC280.L8 F27 2010

Cover Art
Ordinary Miracles : Learning From Breast Cancer Survivors
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC280.B8 N376 2007

Cover Art
Patients' Guide to Cancer in Older Adults
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC263 .P38 2012

Cover Art
Prostate Cancer - the Facts
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC280.P7 M247 2010

Cover Art
Surviving Cancer as a Family and Helping Co-Survivors Thrive
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC262 .S865 2010

Cover Art
Taking Charge of Breast Cancer
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC280.B8 E68 2008

Cover Art
Understanding Cancer Therapies
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC263 .C424 2007

Cover Art
What Every Woman Should Know about Cervical Cancer
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC280.U8 M247 2008

Cover Art
WHY MILLIONS SURVIVE CANCER: THE SUCCESSES OF SCIENCE
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC270.8 .P43 2011

 
  


 

Welcome

According to the American Cancer Society, there are currently 11,028,000 Americans living with cancer.  The risk for males of developing cancer during their lifetime is just over 44%; the risk for females is about 37%.  This guide includes selected resources that provide information on cancer for patients, family members, and friends.  Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.

American Cancer Society.  (2009, July 13).  More Information: Cancer.  Retrieved March 31, 2010 from http://www.cancer.org/docroot/CRI/CRI_2_5x.asp?dt=72

 

Web Sites

American Cancer Society
Includes cancer facts & figures, treatment decision tools, stories of hope, discussion boards, etc.

Cancer.gov
Provides extensive information for patients and health professionals from the National Cancer Institute.

CDC-Cancer Prevention and Control
Includes information on prevention, cancer types, and living with and beyond cancer.

Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Includes basic and detailed information about cancer, multimedia resources, and expert answers and blog.

Oncolink
Provides information on types of cancer, treatment options, and coping strategies from the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania.

Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center: About Herbs, Botanicals, & Other Products
Provides information on alternative therapies for cancer patients.

 

Databases

Cancerlit
Enter your own words or phrases to search cancer-related literature indexed in PubMed, a major biomedical database, or select from over 100 prepared searches on cancer topics.

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. 
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases

MARQCAT

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books, DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns in print or electronic format.

To locate additional resources, enter relevant keywords, for example, prostate cancer, lung cancer, etc.

More search options

  


 

Tree of Life

Artwork by Heather Michel

Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania http://www.oncolink.org/coping/
article.cfm?c=6&s=28&ss=102&id=559

 

DVDs

Breast Cancer
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC280.B8 B745 2007

Cancer Pain: Easing the Agony
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC262 .C36 2008

Cancer Story: What is Cancer
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC261 .C363 2005

Cancer Treatment Side Effects
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC271.C5 .C36 2008

Childhood Cancers
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC281.C4 C46 2007

Types of Cancer
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC261 .T96 2007

Voices: Cancer Patients Speak
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC262 .V65 2006

 
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


  


Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2012 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip