Middle East and North Africa: Article Search

Getting the Articles

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Didn't find the journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.

Recent or Forthcoming Articles of Interest

Louise Cainkar
"Global Arab World Migrations and Diasporas"
Arab Studies Journal, 21:1 (spring 2013): 126-166

Good Places to Start--Databases

Any one of these databases provides a good place to start for further research into contemporary affairs in the Middle East and North Africa. They index primarily academic resources in many languages, although most are in English.

Search PAIS, EconLit, and PSA at the same time

To search any combination of these databases at the same time, do this:

1.  Log into one of the three databases and then look in the dark blue horizontal bar at the top of the screen for: "You are searching: 1 database" Click on the drop-down arrow to the right.  

2,  In the list of databases select the others you want to search by clicking in the check boxes to the left of the names.  The one you logged into will already be checked.  Note: Political Science Abstracts will be under W, for Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

3.  Click on "Use Selected Databases" in an orange bar on the upper right of the screen.