Letter from the Birmingham Jail: Home

Preview

This Research Guide was developed to accompany the speech at Marquette University given by Fr. Bryan Massingale on January 22, 2013, entitled "King's Birmingham City Jail Letter 50 Years Later."  The speech was part of the Freedom Project at Marquette commemmorating the 150th anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation.

Reenactment of Martin Luther King Writing the Letter

This video is a reenactment with Cory Jones acting as Martin Luther King, Jr. Directed by Ya'Ke Smith. Actor starts talking at 4:12 and it goes with the 48 paragraph letter word for word.  It was produced by the University of Texas's McComb School of Management.  Click on More Information on the top right of the screen.

Editions of the Letter

Background on the writing of the letter from The Martin Luther King Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford.

The complete text from The Martin Luther King Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford.

An excerpted text from TeachingkAmericanHistory.org.

The letter from white clergy to which King responded. The reenactment in the box above also contains the letter from white clergy to which King reacted.

Encyclopedia Entries

Birmingham Campaign (1963) from the King Institute Encyclopedia (Stanford)

Martin Luther King Jr. from Britannica Online

Martin Luther King Jr. from American National Biography Online

Archive of The Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Change

Click here for the archive.

This remarkable digital archive it contains thousands of documents that tell the story of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The visual interface for the site is most impressive: visitors can scan through the Spotlights area to look through topical collections that include Significant Cities, Vietnam, and Public Opinion.