American Indians - Archival Resources: Collections Elsewhere

Guide to archival resources about Native Americans (American Indians/Eskimos of North/South America) in the Marquette Archives and other archival repositories

Tips for Sources

Search tips for finding the appropriate archival repositories:

  • To identify previous scholarship, consult the list of writings that used Marquette archival resources.
  • Within scholarly writings, review the bibliographies and footnotes.
  • Be aware that not all archival repositories have a web presence, and that many do not provide clear online descriptions of their holdings.
  • See the portals and guides to locate archival repositories.
  • Search the web with terms such as "archives + Milwaukee Indians" and "special collections + tribe name".
  • Ask an Archivist.

Google Quick Search

Into your browser, enter "site:edu" followed by a single space and specific keywords with single spaces between them, e.g. "site:edu indians native americans archives", "site:edu indians archives photographs wisconsin".

ArchivGrid Quick Search

ArchivGrid is an experimental service available here to Marquette University users only. It provides access to detailed descriptions of archival collections held worldwide by OCLC participating repositories. Search these collections simultaneously by entering your keyword terms into the search box, e.g. "Rosebud Indian Reservation school books".

Portals to Archival Repositories

Portals listing the websites of archival repositories worldwide. The portal links list repository names without describing their holdings, some of which pertain to Native Americans.

Online Guides to Archival Records

Guides with at least some records about Native Americans.

Print Guides to Archival Records

Useful guides believed to include at least some archival records not identified online.

  • Chepesiuk, Ron, and Arnold Shankman, American Indian Archival Material: A Guide to Holdings in the Southeast, Greenwood Press, 1982
  • Daniel, Karen Stein, Native American Genealogical Resources for New Mexico, New Mexico Genealogical Society, 2008
  • Morrison, James, Aboriginal Peoples in the Archives: A Guide to Sources in the Archives of Ontario, Archives of Ontario, Ministry of Culture and Communications, 1992 
  • Rose, LaVera, Guide to American Indian Research in South Dakota, 2000
  • Russell, Bill, Records of the Department of Indian Affairs at Library and Archives Canada: A Source for Genealogical Research, Ontario Genealogical Society, 2004
  • Svoboda, Joseph G., A Guide to American Indian Resource Materials in Great Plains Repositories, Center for Great Plains Studies, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1983; pertains to archival and library resources.