Faculty Guide to Libraries: Collections

Everything faculty need to know about services and collections.

Library Collections

The Marquette University Libraries support the teaching and research efforts of the university. This activity is expressed in the continuous development and enhancement of collection resources. The Libraries are developing a digital library of electronic resources essential to current  academic scholarship and teaching while continuing to add to the collections of books, journals, microforms, videos, and other kinds of materials which form the historic foundation of library holdings. The Libraries' collections are augmented by membership in the Center for Research Libraries which offers than 4,000,000 volumes for indefinite loan to members of the Marquette academic community.

The Libraries' collections encompass more than 1.7 million volumes, 1.2 million e-books, and 34,000 journal titles.

Database and Journal Collections

Databases: The libraries subscribe to more than 500 online article, data, text and image databases, ranging from discipline-specific subjects, such as CINAHL (nursing), LION (literature), and PsycInfo (psychology) to multidisciplinary databases, such as WorldCat, Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, Web of Science and ProQuest Research Library.

Journals: The libraries provide access to more than 34,000 journals and other serials in digital format, including large e-journal "families" such as JSTOR, Project MUSE, American Chemical Society, IEEE, and Institute of Physics. MARQCAT provides listings of e-journals in broad disciplines, see link below. Some subscriptions to print journals are also maintained.

Off-campus access to electronic resources is available. The university's Virtual Private Network (VPN) may be used to access all electronic resources and some require VPN. Without VPN, users are prompted to enter their Marqnet username and password.

Distinctive Collections/Locations

The Children's Book Collection, containing books on all subjects and for all reading levels from easy readers to young adult, is located on Memorial's 3rd floor overlooking the Opus Bridge.

The Browsing Collection of fiction and popular-interest nonfiction for pleasure reading is housed on the second level of Raynor. Items circulate for three weeks and are non-renewable.

The Funding Information Center, on Raynor's 1st level, offers books, journals, and databases for identifying sources of funding. More here.

Adjacent to browsing are two small subject collections: the Walter Ciszek, S.J., Catholic Spirituality Collection, containing books and videos for three-week loan; and the Manresa Collection, devoted to Christian diversity for exploring Christian spiritual life, including vocation, Christian discipleship, and leadership.

The Jean Cujé Milwaukee Music Collection, on Raynor’s lower level, contains recordings in all formats and all types of local area music. CDs may be checked out for one week.

Collection Development

To facilitate collection building, each academic department has an appointed faculty library representative, a corresponding librarian subject liaison, and an annual discretionary fund for the purchase of books and other one-time items, such as audiovisuals and microfilm. Consult with your department’s faculty representative or your librarian subject liaison about the procedures for placing requests.

To request materials outside your discipline, the library has these suggestion forms (accessible on campus only). Although we cannot promise we will purchase all items suggested, we will investigate and consider all suggestions.

Journal subscriptions are an ongoing expense and thus require a thorough justification and vetting which is submitted to the Resources and Collections Advisory Committee for approval process.  Work closely with your library subject liaison to initiate and complete the request.

Associate Dean for Scholarly Resources and Collections Scott Mandernack, 288-7954