Faculty Guide to Libraries: Special Collections and University Archives

Everything faculty need to know about services and collections.

About Special Collections and University Archives

The mission of the Department of Special Collections and University Archives is to collect, arrange, describe, preserve, and service records of enduring historical value for research, instructional, and administrative use. The archival and manuscript collecting program of the department is an extension of the spiritual, philosophical, and scholarly strengths of the university as a Christian, Catholic, and Jesuit institution.

Access

Holdings are available for public use, although patrons from off campus must obtain either a daily limited research pass or annual research pass. For more information please see the Libraries' Visitor Policy.  Some collections may also be subject to restrictions placed by donors or university offices. All researchers sign a registration form that includes an agreement to abide by rules governing use. Access to records is provided through archival descriptive inventories and MARQCAT, the Raynor Memorial Libraries' online catalog.Photo of researcher working with rare books

To insure the availability of records and audio/visual equipment, researchers visiting from outside the Marquette campus are asked to write or phone in advance. Nearly one-half of all use during the past 12 years has been from outside the university. User service and an expanding academic support role remain predominant commitments of the department.

Interlibrary loan borrowing is available for some materials described in these guidelines.

Class visits and inquiries from faculty are always welcome. Call 288-7256.

Location and Hours

The Department of Special Collections and University Archives is located on the third floor of the John P. Raynor, S.J., Library, Room R360.

Hours of service are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Evening and weekend hours may be arranged by appointment. For further information, please call (414) 288-7256.

Questions?

Ask an Archivist!

Selected Collections

These are just a few of the collections here at Marquette. Visit the comprehensive index of all processed manuscript collections and university records maintained by the Department of Special Collections and Archives to see more.

J.R.R. TolkienRare BooksNative AmericaDorothy DayUniversity Archives

Archives Staff

Amy Cooper Cary, Archivist and Department Head
(414) 288-5901; FAX (414) 288-6709
Amy.Cary@marquette.edu

William Fliss, Archivist
(414) 288-5906; FAX (414) 288-6709
William.Fliss@marquette.edu

Phillip M. Runkel, Archivist
(414) 288-5903; FAX (414) 288-6709
Phil.Runkel@marquette.edu

Susan Stawicki-Vrobel, Archival Technical Assistant
(414) 288-7256; FAX (414) 288-6709
Susan.StawickiVrobel@marquette.edu

Michelle Sweetser, Archivist
(414) 288-5905; FAX (414) 288-6709
Michelle.Sweetser@marquette.edu

Mark G. Thiel, CA (Certified Archivist), Archivist
(414) 288-5904; FAX (414) 288-6709
Mark.Thiel@marquette.edu

e-Archives

Special Collections and University Archives (SPARC) has 18 digital collections, featuring more than 10,000 photographs and more than 50,000 pages of printed materials. These online resources represent just a fraction of the 50 million documents preserved in SPARC. Visit the e-archives page for more information and to search the collections.

Accessing Other Archival Collections

Archivists prepare inventories, or finding aids, to describe archival records. Our finding aids are arranged by subject and within an A-Z Index. Finding aids often provide older-level descriptions of primary sources, but rarely provide access to electronic facsimiles.

Marquette Writes

Faculty publications are collected for the Marquette Writes Collection; please send copies of articles to University Archives and notify staff of published books so that we can purchase a copy for this non-circulating collection.