Graduate Student's Guide to Libraries: Finding Library Resources

This guide outlines services and resources for graduate students in all disciplines

MARQCAT - The Libraries' Catalog

  • MARQCAT, the catalog for the Marquette Libraries, lists books, journals, DVDs, videos, and CDs that the library owns in print or electronic format.
  • MARQCATplus provides a Google-like keyword search of books and DVDs in the collection as well as full text articles retrieved from many of the libraries' article databases.  It is the default search on the Library home page.

MARQCAT gives the Call Number and Location within the libraries and indicates whether the item is Available or checked out.  Items may be requested by clicking on the "Request" icon.

Browse recently added books, including new items in the browsing collection using the "New Titles" feature in the left sidebar on MARQCAT and choose your subject area.

Checking Out Materials

Graduate Students have generous circulation privileges.  Books checked out from the general collection are due at the end of each semester, unless recalled by another registered library user.  For more information about these checkout privileges see the Graduate Student Borrowing policies.

Database and Journal Collections

Databases: The libraries subscribe to more than 500 online article, data, text and image databases, ranging from discipline-specific subjects, such as CINAHL (nursing), LION (literature), and PsycInfo (psychology) to multidisciplinary databases, such as WorldCat, Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, Web of Science and ProQuest Research Library.

Journals: The libraries provide access to more than 34,000 journals and other serials in digital format, including large e-journal "families" such as JSTOR, Project MUSE, American Chemical Society, IEEE, and Institute of Physics. MARQCAT provides listings of e-journals in broad disciplines, see link below. Some subscriptions to print journals are also maintained.

Off-campus access to electronic resources is available. The university's Virtual Private Network (VPN) may be used to access all electronic resources and some require VPN. Without VPN, users are prompted to enter their Marqnet username and password.

Getting the Articles

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Didn't find the journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.

Find Other Dissertations and Theses

To find dissertations and theses written by students at other colleges and universities, try these databases:

Interlibrary Loan

The Libraries provide access to the collections of libraries around the world through our Interlibrary Loan services.  Most transactions can be done entirely online through our online ILLiad service.  full information can be found at the Interlibrary Loan site: