Cited Reference Searching & Journal Rankings: EBSCO Databases

How to locate articles and other documents that have cited a previously published document. Also how to determine where a journal is ranked in relation to others in its field.

EBSCO Databases

Some EBSCO databases included a search feature for locating citing articles.  Keep in mind this only locates the records within the same database that have bibliographies included as part of the record.  Each database varies on what it includes.

Comprehensive Databases

Academic Search Complete

Humanities Databases

America: History and Life

Historical Abstracts

Humanities International Complete

Social Science Databases

Business Source Premier

Communication Abstracts

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Education Research Complete

LGBT Life with Full Text

Political Science Complete

Science Databases:


Environment Complete


Ebscohost Databases

Step 1:  Several EBSCOhost databases include a Cited References link at the top of the search screen or as one of the drop down items under More.  Click on this link then enter search terms in the Cited Author, Title, Source, Year, and/or All Citation Fields search boxes:

Step 2: articles matching the search entries are displayed indicating how many times they were cited in this database (10 times in this example). To view citing articles, put a check mark in the desired box or boxes, then click Find Citing Articles.

Step 3:  A list of citing articles will be retrieved: