Cited Reference Searching & Journal Rankings: Ovid databases

How to locate articles and other documents that have cited a previously published document. Also how to determine where a journal is ranked in relation to others in its field.

Ovid Databases

Some Ovid databases included a one-click search for locating citing articles.  Keep in mind this only locates the records within the same database that have bibliographies included as part of the record.  Each database varies on what it includes.

Social Science Databases

PsycINFO

Science Databases:

Medline

Ovid Search Tips

Ovid provides a 5-step process for finding and exporting citing references:

Step 1: Locate the record for which you want to find citing articles by doing an Author search, a words in Title search or both and combining the two searches with AND. 

Step 2:  From the article Record, click on the Find Citing Articles link:

Step 3: This search locates and displays any records within the database with this citation in the References portion of the record, in this case it finds 10 records. You can view and print these records from your browser print option.

Step 4: Saving or Exporting Citing Article records.  To save these records or export them to a reference manager like RefWorks or EndNote, add each of them to a 'My Projects' folder by clicking on the My Projects link.  The first time you do this you will be asked to sign in or create an account in Ovid.  You will then be asked to select an existing project or create a new project to which you will add the citation.

Step 5: Managing Projects: To view and manage the citations in a project, click on the "My Workspace" tab then select the project you want to work with. Select records individually or 'all' then Print, Email or Export them into a reference manager.