Safety: Safety

Use this guide to find resources with information on safety and injury prevention.

Books

Web Sites

American Red Cross
Includes information on how to prevent, prepare for, and get assistance after an emergency or disaster.

Back to Sleep Campaign
Provides safe sleep strategies to reduce the incidence of sudden infant death syndrome.

FoodSafety.gov
Includes information on safe food storage, minimum cooking temperatures, food poisoning, etc.

MedlinePlus - Safety
Links to sites with information on topics such as home safety, crime prevention, and safe travel.

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
Topics include home and recreational safety, motor vehicle safety, and injury response.

National Safety Council
Provides safety information for work, home, and on the road.

Occupational Safety and Health Administraton - Safety and Health Topics
Provides information on workplace and industry hazards.

Protect the Ones You Love
Provides guidance for parents from the CDC on how to prevent the leading causes of injury in children, including burns, falls, motor vehicle accidents, and poisoning.

Sun Safety
Provides information
from the American Cancer Society on sun protection and skin cancer.

Weather Related Disaster Health & Safety Tips
Includes safety tips for flooding, tornadoes, lightning, etc.

MARQCATplus Search


     

What is MARQCATplus?

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases