Consumer Health: Nutrition

Use this guide to find information on maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and on living well with common health conditions.


Web Sites

CDC - Nutrition for Everyone
Provides information to help improve eating habits.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020

Eat Right
American Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Mayo Clinic - Nutrition and Healthy Eating
Covers nutrition basics and provides guidance on healthy diets, cooking, menus, and shopping strategies.

MedlinePlus - Nutrition
Links to sites with information on nutrition and related issues.
Provides information on food and nutrition.

Nutrition Source
Provides nutrition information from the Harvard School of Public Health.

USDA Dietary Guidance, Interactive Tools
Includes MyFoodapedia and interactive tools to assess your health risks, help plan meals and provide feedback on diet and physical activity levels.


MARQCATplus Search



Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

USDA National Nutrient Database
Provides nutritional values for a wide variety of foods.

Other Health Sciences Databases