Consumer Health: Stress

Use this guide to find information on maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and on living well with common health conditions.

Guided Meditation

Candle Flame Meditation
Mayo Clinic

Calm.com
Offers timed and guided meditations

Free Guided Meditations
UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center

Guided Audio and Video Files to Practice Mindfulness
UCSD Center for Mindfulness

Meditation Lounge
Inner Space Meditation Center and Gallery

Mindfulness Meditation of the Body and Breath
From Oxford University's mindfulness course

Three Minute Breathing Space
From Oxford University's mindfulness course

Great Bell Chant Meditation

Books

Brilliant Stress Management
Call Number: eBook
Caregiver's Guide : Care for Yourself While You Care for Your Loved Ones
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA645.3 .H64 2012
Faculty Stress
Call Number: MEMORIAL LVL 4 LOWER LB2333.3 .F33 2009 c.2
Full Catastrophe Living
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA785 .K33
How to Deal with Stress
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA785 .P344 2013 and eBook version
Living with Insomnia
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC548 .B76 2011
Mindfulness : A Practical Guide to Finding Peace in a Frantic World
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC489.M55 W5 2011
Real Happiness: The Power of Meditation
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 1 BL627 .S35 2011
Relaxation Revolution
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA785 .B483 2010
The Rough Guide to Mindfulness
Call Number: eBook
Success Through Stillness
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC489.M43 S555 2014
Under Pressure: Understanding and Managing the Pressure and Stress of Work
Call Number: eBook
Worried Sick
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA785 .C36 2014

Web Sites

American Heart Association: Stress Management
Includes information and online tools for assessing, controlling and dealing with stress.

American Psychological Association: Stress
Includes the latest news on stress, tips for managing stress, and information on getting help.

Healthfinder.gov: Stress Management
Links to a number of stress management resources.

Mayo Clinic: Stress Management

MedlinePlus: Stress
Provides links to many resources with information on managing stress.

DVDs/Videos

Breathing Away Stress
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA782 .B74 2004

Coping with Stress
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA785 .C66 2004

Daily Energy : Vinyasa Flow Yoga
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA781.7 .D35 2009

The Healing Power of Nature
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD GF75 .N44 2000

Momentary Meditations
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA785 .M65 2003

Rest and Relax
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA782 .P67 2006

Stress and Your Body
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD QP82.2.S8 S264 2010

This Emotional Life
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD BF531 .T45 2010

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD QP82.2.S8 W49 2010

Yoga for Beginners
RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA781.7 .Y643 2008

Sound Recordings

The 10-minute Stress Manager
MEMORIAL LEVEL 1 BF575.S75 M55 2004

A Day Away from Stress
MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA785 .M325 2006

MARQCAT Search

Tools: Advanced Search

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition>
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases