Islamic Studies: Koran (Qur'an)

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

The Koran in Translation

Koran by Rodwell
Call Number: BP109 .R6 1987 Memorial Level 1
Publication Date: 1990-08-15
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Koran by George Sale, translator
Call Number: BP109 .S3 1984 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Koran by N. J. Dawood, translator
Call Number: BP109 .K45 1990 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Koran handbook: an annotated translation by Nicolas Starkovsky
Call Number: BP109 2005b Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

What the Koran really says : language, text, and commentary by Ibn Warraq, editor and translator
Call Number: BP169 .W48 2002 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Koran : a very short introduction by Michael Cook
Call Number: BP130.4 .C66 2000 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Understanding the Qurʼan by Anton Wessels
Call Number: BP132 .W4713 2000 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Opening the Qur'an : introducing Islam's holy book by Walter H. Wagner
Call Number: BP130.4 .W24 2008 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Cambridge companion to the Qurʼān by Jane Dammen McAuliffe, editor
Call Number: BP130.4 .C36 2006 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
The Blackwell companion to the Qurʼān by Andrew Rippin, editor
Call Number: BP130.4 .B57 2006 Memorial Level 1
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Access limited to 1 user at a time. Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on major topics about Islam; English interpretations of the Qur'an; primary source documents, images and maps; and more.
more...less...
Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.

Dictionary of Qurʼānic terms and concepts by Mustansir Mir
Call Number: BP 133 .M57 1987 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Encyclopaedia of Islam by H.A.R. Gibb [and others]
Call Number: DS37 .E523 Raynor Reference
Online and in print. Click title for bibliographic entry and access to e-version.
The Qur'an : an encyclopedia by Oliver Leaman, editor
Call Number: BP133 .Q87 2006 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Self and secrecy in early Islam by Ruqayya Yasmine Khan
Call Number: PJ7519.I84 K48 2008 Memorial Level 4 lower
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
http://libus.csd.mu.edu/record=b2693331~S1
Call Number: BP130.2 .S193 2006 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
God, Muhammad and the unbelievers : a Qur'anic study by David Marshall
Call Number: BP166.785 .M37 1999 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.