Islamic Studies: History

This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

Introduction

This page introduces you to books in our library about the history of Islam, providing samples of different kinds of publications. If any one book is particularly useful, check the Subject categories in the bibliographic record and then click on one to get similar titles.

Or go to Oxford Islamic Studies Online. Click on the Search tab, then on Main Search. Explore the options to limit your topic under Eras, Topics, and Regions.

Or go to the Advanced Keyword Screen below this one and do a Keyword search on: history, combined with a Subject search on: Islam. You can limit by publication date and language. To limit the search to Islam in a particular country just add another Subject search and enter the name of the country.

Here are a few sample searches:
Subject: Islam Keyword: "British Empire"
Subject: Islam Keyword: crusades

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the form, select limits, and click Search

Field Limit 1 Search Text 1 Boolean 1 Field Limit 2 Search Text 2 Boolean 2 Field Limit 3 Search Text 3 Boolean 3 Field Limit 4 Search Text 4
Collection:
Location:
Language:
Year:	After and Before Before Year
Publisher:
Material Type:
Search and Sort:

Overviews and Introductions

A companion to the history of the Middle East by Youssef M. Choueiri
Call Number: DS62 .C63 2005 Memorial Level 2
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.

To find other books similar to these go to the MARQCAT Record and scroll down to Subject on the left. Click on one of the Subject categories. Think of them as More Like This buttons.

The Longman companion to the Middle East since 1914 by Ritchie Ovendale
Call Number: DS62.4 .O94 1998 Raynor Reference
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
A concise history of the Middle East by Arthur Goldschmidt Jr
Call Number: DS62 .G64 2002 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Islam : an historical introduction by Gerhard Endress
Call Number: DS35.6 .E5313 2002 Memorial Level 2
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
North Africa : a history from antiquity to the present by Phillip C. Naylor
Call Number: DT167 .N39 2009 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Islam : a thousand years of faith and power by Jonathan Bloom and Sheila Blair
Call Number: BP55 .B57 2002 Raynor Reserves
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Ottoman Empire, 1700-1922 by Donald Quataert
Call Number: DR485 .Q37 2000 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 0521633281
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
An introduction to the modern Middle East : history, religion, political economy, politics by David S. Sorenson
Call Number: DS44 .S67 2008 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and General Histories

You can search several encyclopedias about Islam online through Oxford Islamic Studies Online. Start with the main Search function. You can refine your searches in several ways.

To find other books similar to these go to the MARQCAT Record and scroll down to Subject on the left. Click on one of the Subject categories. Think of them as More Like This buttons.

There are historical dictionaries of many countries. Try a Title search in MARQCAT using the name of the country you want.

Encyclopedia of Islam by H.A.R. Gibb, et al
Call Number: DS37 .E523 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click title for bibliographic entry and access to e-version.
Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa by Philip Mattar, editor
Call Number: DS43 .E53 2004 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world by Richard C. Martin, editor
Call Number: BP40 .E525 2004 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 2004
In print and online. Click title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Encyclopedia Iranica by Ehsan Yarshater, editor
Call Number: DS253 .E53 1985 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 1985-
In print and online. Click title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Biographical encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa by Michael R. Fischbach, editor
Call Number: CT1866 .B56 2008 Raynor Reference
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Historical dictionary of Islam by Ludwig W. Adamec
Call Number: BP50 .A33 2009 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Historical Dictionary of Turkey by Metin Heper and Nur Bilge Criss
Call Number: DR436 .H47 2009 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Historical dictionary of Algeria by Phillip C. Naylor
Call Number: DT283.7 .N39 2006 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Cambridge history of Islam. Vol. 1A, The central Islamic lands from pre-Islamic times to the First World War by Edited by P.M. Holt, Ann K.S. Lambton, Bernard Lewis
Online only. Click title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
The Cambridge history of Islam. Vol. 1B, The central Islamic lands since 1918 by Edited by P.M. Holt, Ann K.S. Lambton, Bernard Lewis
Online only. Click title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Cambridge history of Islam. Vol. 2A, The Indian sub-continent, South-East Asia, Africa and the Muslim West by Edited by P.M. Holt, Ann K.S. Lambton, Bernard Lewis
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Cambridge history of Islam. Vol. 2B, Islamic society and civilization by Edited by P.M. Holt, Ann K.S. Lambton, Bernard Lewis
Online only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Specialized Scholarly Studies

Christian martyrs for a Muslim people by Martin McGee
Call Number: BR1608.5 .M393 2008 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

To find other books similar to these go to the MARQCAT Record and scroll down to Subject on the left. Click on one of the Subject categories. Think of them as More Like This buttons.

The sword of the prophet : Islam : history, theology, impact on the world by Serge Trifkovic
Call Number: BP161.3 .T75 2002 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Islam in history and politics : perspectives from South Asia by Asim Roy, editor
Call Number: BP63.A37 I85 2006 Memorial Level 1
In print only. Click title for bibliographic record.
Arab historians of the Crusades / selected and translated from the Arabic sources by Francesco Gabrieli, ed. ; translated from the Italian by E.J. Costello
Call Number: D151 .G313 Memorial Level 2
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Imagining the Middle East by Matthew F. Jacobs
Call Number: DS63.2.U5 J34 2011 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2011-09-12
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.

History in Dispute

History in Dispute is a series of e-books featuring articles by numerous authors on all aspects of their subjects. A section on a particular dispute will provide essays on either side of a historical controversy, as well as a bibliography and usually a primary source.

The Middle East since 1945 : first series (2004)
This is a collection of articles by numerous authors on all aspects of its subject.
The Middle East since 1945 : second series
This is a collection of articles by numerous authors on all aspects of its subject.