Biomedical Engineering: Handbooks & Manuals - Medical

Need Help?

General Medical Encyclopedias

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Jacqueline L. Longe (ed.)
Publication Date: 2015
Provides information on more than 1700 medical topics in language accessible to lay-persons. Unlimited user license.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health by Jacqueline L. Longe (ed.)
Publication Date: 2018
Almost 900 entries cover all areas of nursing, physical therapy, and other major health professions. Unlimited user license.
MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
Publication Date: 2003
Covers the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults.
Single user license.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Call Number: Raynor Reference RC1206 .O355 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Includes over 150 in-depth entries on a variety of sports medicine topics.

Cleveland Clinic's Current Clinical Medicine
Call Number: RC55 .C76 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
This softbound book, written by the members of the Cleveland Clinic faculty, is a very readable and useful guide to the treatment of many common internal medicine disorders.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: Raynor Reference RC55 .M4 2011
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
All the health care information you need in one package!
Merck Manual of Health & Aging
Provides information on aging, medical conditions, and social, legal and ethical issues.
Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests
Call Number: Raynor Reference RB38.2 .W538 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Covers commonly used laboratory and diagnostic tests. Covers normal and abnormal values, testing procedures, and patient care.
Practical Manual of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Call Number: Raynor Reference RM701 .T36 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Covers all aspects of patient care, including physical examination, diagnostic testing, and treatment.

NCBI Bookshelf
Full-text biomedical books from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: Raynor Reference - R121 .D73 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

The 31st edition of this classic reference has more than 124,000 entries and over 1500 images.
Merriam Webster's Medical Dictionary (MedlinePlus)
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version)
Call Number: R121 .T18
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Comprehensive definitions of medical terms. Includes Patient Care sections and dozens of appendices
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations - 6th Ed. (2009)
Call Number: Raynor Reference R 123 .J24 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
Call Number: Raynor Reference R121 .S8 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availabiilty.
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing and health professions
Call Number: Raynor Reference - R121 .M89 2017
View MARQCAT Record

Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by 12th ed.
Call Number: Raynor Reference QM25 .G7 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
This classic atlas features updated artwork, more vital tissue colors, new conceptual diagrams, re-colored illustrations, and a more consistent art style. Clinical integration has been enhanced and organization updated.
McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy
Call Number: Reference QM25 .M23 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Color Atlas of Physiology
Call Number: Raynor Reference QP34.5 .S5313 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
The Brain Atlas: A Visual Guide to the Human Central Nervous System by 3rd ed.
Call Number: Raynor Reference QM455 .B633 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Organization flows from surface anatomy to cross-sections, to regional histology, ending with diagrams of the major neuronal systems. Presents magnetic resonance images side-by-side with corresponding brain slices; includes labeling system & alphabetical list of terms for each image.
Color Atlas of Histology
Call Number: Raynor Reference QM557 .G38 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Includes re-digitized images for all of the major tissue classes and body systems as well as reviews of essential concepts, histophysiology, and clinical considerations.