Biomedical Engineering: Handbooks & Directories - Engineering

Need Help?

Knovel Books Search Widget

Search over 3,000 full-text engineering reference works and databases. Interactive tools can be used to create tables, charts, equations, plotters and graphs. To use the Search Widget off-campus, log into the VPN (Virtual Private Network) first or create a My Knovel profile while on campus. With a My Knovel profile, you will be able to gain access from any location with a username and password .

Directories

Directories point you to people, companies, & organizations for obtaining information, products, materials, etc.

ThomasNet
Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers - from Actuators to Medical Instruments to Zirconium. Registration is free, but you can search without registering.
GlobalSpec
Provides Web-based info in three broad areas: 1) SpecSearch database of parametrically searchable OEM and distributor product catalogs; 2) Engineering Web searching engineering content from the open web and a variety of proprietary content publishers; 3) over 60 product and industry e-newsletters.
Medical Equipment Manufacturers Directory
Directory provided by DRE, a medical and surgical equipment supplier.

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Provide distilled synthesis of previous research, data, specs, formula, and process explanations.

Knovel Handbooks
Dozens of handbooks are searchable through the Knovel database.
Biomaterials Science: An Introduction to Materials in Medicine 3rd ed.
Publication Date: 2013
Provides up-to-date and in-depth information on biomaterial developments, and comprehensive coverage of this growing, multidisciplinary field for students of all backgrounds.
Medical Devices and Systems by Joseph D. Bronzino (Editor)
Call Number: Raynor Reference R856.15 .B56 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
This 3 volume set covers biomedical engineering fundamentals, medical devices & systems and tissue engineering and artificial organs.
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation, Set by John G. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: Raynor Reference R856.A3 E53 2006 v. 1-6
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Focuses on the practice of medicine that is assisted by devices. Articles cover the latest developments such as nanotechnology, fiber optics, and signal processing.
Engineering Materials for Biomedical Applications
Publication Date: 2004
Provides a basic understanding of the engineering and processing aspects of biomaterials used in medical applications
Human Factors for Engineers
Publication Date: 2004
Practical and pragmatic advice to assist engineers in designing interactive systems that are safer, more secure and easier to use
Introductory Biomechanics - From Cells to Organisms by C. Ross Ethier; Craig A. Simmons
Call Number: Memorial Level 5 QH513 .E84 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Introduces a wide selection of topics in biomechanics, ranging from the mechanics of single cells to the dynamics of human movement.
Medical Device Register
Call Number: Reference R856.A1 M4x 2013 v. 1&2
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
The only one-stop resource of every medical supplier licensed to sell products in the US.
Medical Imaging Systems Technology
Four volumes provide indispensable and complete academic coverage of medical imaging systems.

MatWeb - Material Property Data

Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers; metals; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Composite Materials Data Sheets - 2010 version of MatWeb Composite Material Data Sheets (MDS) contains reference data for more than 1000 composite materials. Use VPN for off campus use.