FIC Research Guides/Bibliographies: Funding for Research

Need Help?

Web sites

Databases

COS Pivot from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of 25,000+ sources of private and federal funding sources.
Funding purposes include research, collaborations, travel, curriculum development, conferences, fellowships, postdoctoral positions, equipment acquisitions, capital or operating expenses. Updated daily. NOTE: To use the COS resources you must first create a profile and login using an on-campus computer. Access from off-campus is based on the created login credentials.
Foundation Directory Online Professional from Foundation Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available only on Library PCs. Directory of 100,000+ US foundations and corporate donors and recent grants. Current information only.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online from Foundation Center This link opens in a new window
(Access limited to Raynor Memorial users only)
Foundations in Wisconsin Online This link opens in a new window
(Online access available to subscribers or Marquette University users only)

Fundraising for Research

The following is a selected list of materials in the Funding Information Center (FIC) on writing, obtaining, and renewing grants for research. These guides should be used carefully and supplemented with additional research. Please note that none of these items may be checked out.

Marquette University's Funding Information Center is open to the public. Please present a photo ID at the entrance. For information, please call: (414) 288-7556 or email AskUs @ Marquette.edu.

Funding Information Center

John P. Raynor, S.J., Library

1355 W. Wisconsin Ave.

P.O. Box 3141

Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141

Visit the Funding Information Center's web site for links to valuable resources on the Internet:

http://www.marquette.edu/library/fic

Books Available in the Funding Information Center (FIC)

Annual Register of Grant Support
Call Number: Funding Info Center AS911.A2 A67 (Annual)
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

This annual guide contains information on major foundations in the arts, sciences, and humanities, along with full financial and statistical information on each foundation listed.
Directory of Biomedical and Health Care Grants
Call Number: Funding Info Center R850.A1 D55
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Provides the research community with current information regarding funding for research programs and projects concerned with human health and biomedicine.
Directory of Grants in the Humanities
Call Number: Funding Info Center AZ188.U5 D56 (Annual)
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Contains over 4,000 current funding programs that support research and performances in literature, language, linguistics, history, philosophy, religion, and the arts. These programs fund research, travel, internships, and performances in the USA and Canada. Has an excellent subject index.
Directory of Research Grants
Call Number: Funding Info Center LB2338 .D57 (Annual)
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Features programs that offer research funding for projects in medicine, the physical and social sciences, the arts and humanities, and education. Contains detailed listings of grant programs and a subject index.
Funding Your Research in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Call Number: FIC AZ 188.U5 W35 2018
Offering practical guidance, step-by-step instructions, and examples of successful proposals, Walker and Unruh outline the best practices to crack the proposal writing code.
Get Funded: an Insider's Guide to Building an Academic Research Program
Call Number: FIC HG 177.5.U6 T74 2017
Learn all the basic principles involved in initiating an academic career and building an externally funded academic research program with this practical guide.
The Grants Register
Call Number: LB2338 .G7 (Annual)
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

International in scope, this source lists major foundations giving grants in the areas of arts, humanities, science, and political studies. Contains a very detailed subject index.
Proposals That Work
Call Number: FIC Q 180.55.P7 L63 2014
Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, Proposals That Work offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples.
Research Projects and Research Proposals by Paul G. Chapin; Alan I. Leshner (Foreword by)
Call Number: Funding Info Center Q180.55.G7 C44 2004
Publication Date: 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Directed to scientists who wish to design and write proposals for funding agencies. Includes project planning, information about specific government funders, and grants management.
Winning Research Funding by Abby Day Peters
Call Number: Memorial Level 4 Upper HG177 .P474 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

A step-by-step process of focusing research, identifying funding partners, and building and maintaining a relationship with the partner.
Write an Effective Funding Application: a Guide for Researchers and Scholars
Call Number: FIC HG 177 .W35 2009
Provides information on a variety topics to help write a successful grant application.