FIC Research Guides/Bibliographies: Letter & Proposal Writing

Need Help?

Web Sites

Letter & Proposal Writing

Written communication is an important element in the process of applying for grants or fundraising. The following is a selected list of publications in the Funding Information Center (FIC) dealing specifically with writing letters and developing proposals which are aimed at corporate and foundation grantmakers.

See the side bar for various web sites having to do with letter or proposal writing.

These guides should be used carefully and supplemented with additional research. Please note that none of these items may be checked out.

Marquette University's Funding Information Center is open to the public. Please present a photo ID at the entrance. For information, please call: (414) 288-7556 or email AskUs @ Marquette.edu.

Funding Information Center

John P. Raynor, S.J., Library

1355 W. Wisconsin Ave.

P.O. Box 3141

Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141

Visit the Funding Information Center's web site for links to valuable resources on the Internet:

http://www.marquette.edu/library/fic

General Letter & Proposal Writing

The Complete Book of Grant Writing
Call Number: FIC HG 177 .S63 2012
Learn how to write grants that win funding fast! This is the ultimate grant book that shows you how to write a grant proposal if you're seeking funding through government grants, foundation grants, and specialty grants.
Effective Planning Strategies and Proposal Writing
Call Number: FIC HG 177 .C69 2010
Provides a comprehensive review of planning strategies and related concepts. The text presents material in a straightforward manner that is intended to make planning accessible and provides examples from the field.
Finding Funding by Ernest W. Brewer; Charles M. Achilles
Call Number: Funding Info Center LB 2825 .F522 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Detailed section on proposal writing that emphasizes the total grant package and includes a variety of helpful hints.
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
Call Number: Funding Info Center HG177.5.U6 G44 6th ed. 2012
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

This comprehensive guide covers the entire process of proposal writing from pre-proposal planning, to writing, to post-grant follow-up. The guide also offers insider advice from several grantmakers on common mistakes to avoid while creating your proposal.
The Foundation Center's Guide to Winning Proposals
Call Number: Funding Info Center HV41.9.U5 F67
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

This 2 volume set includes more than 50 examples of actual proposals in their entirety. Includes critiques by decision makers who approved the grants.
Funded! Successful Grantwriting for Your Nonprofit
Call Number: FIC HG 177 .H635 2017
Funded! leads readers from knowing nothing about writing grants to having a complete grant proposal.
Getting Funded
Call Number: FIC HG 177.5.U6 H355 2016
Good to Great Grant Writing
Call Number: FIC HG 177.5.U6 C85 2019
Grant Writing 101
Call Number: FIC HG177 .J64 2011
This offers quick and easy tactics for getting needed funding. Written to enable beginners with little or no of experience, it covers ten tactics for writing a compelling proposal.
Grant Writing DeMYSTiFied
Call Number: FIC HG177 .P396 2011
Organized into 14 chapters covering key grantsmanship topics, this book goes through the grant writing process from defining your project to submitting your proposal.
Grant Writing for Dummies
Call Number: FIC HG 177.5 .U6 B76 2011
This book guides you through the entire grant-writing process.
Grant Writing Made Simple
Call Number: FIC HG177.5.U6 S72 2009
Written for the new grant writer, this helpful resource offers quick, common sense advice for writing winning proposals.
The How to Grants Manual
Call Number: FIC HG 177 .B38 2015
A systematic approach to grantseekers in both the public and private sector. Includes worksheets
How to Say It: Grantwriting
Call Number: FIC HG177 .K63 2009
ISBN: 9780735204454
Covers writing proposals specific to a donor's interests, complete with step-by-step instructions and samples of winning proposals.
Models of Proposal Planning and Writing by Jeremy T. Miner; Lynn E. Miner
Call Number: Memorial Level 4 Upper HG177.5.U6 M558 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

Grantseeking has become an increasingly competitive process. Beginning grantwriters sometimes assemble a collection of facts Presents a framework for developing persuasive proposals and provides actual proposals that were funded. Details the planning and writing process step-by-step, as well as reviewer comments and grant notification letters.
The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing
Call Number: FIC HG 177.5.U6 C37 2015
In this practical, accessible guide for students, faculty, and other university personnel, the author shares her best practices for planning, writing, and winning research grants.
Perfect Phrases for Writing Grant Proposals: Hundreds of Ready-to-Use Phrases to Present Your Organization, Explain Your Cause, and Get the Funding You Need
Call Number: FIC HG177 .B768 2008
Provides the right words to present a successful proposal.
Proposal Planning and Writing by Jeremy T. Miner; Lynn E. Miner
Call Number: Memorial Library HG 177.5.U6 M56 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

This book focuses on the techniques of planning, writing, and submitting grant proposals to both public and private agencies. This step-by-step guide includes various writing examples and time saving tips from successful grantseekers. Includes a special emphasis on computerized grantseeking.
Proposal Writing; Effective Grantsmanship
Call Number: FIC HV 41 .C548 2014
Clear, easy-to-understand, and jargon-free, this resource offers a step-by-step guide to writing a successful grant proposal to meet community needs.
Storytelling for Grantseekers
Call Number: FIC HV41.2 .C53 2009
Highlights the creative elements of proposal writing with exercises and examples.
The Ultimate Insider's Guide to Winning Foundation Grants
Call Number: FIC HG 177 .T45 2012
Gives grant writing tips from the Foundation’s perspective, including letters of intent and the actual proposal.
Winning Grants Step by Step by Tori O'Neal-McElrath; Lynn Kanter; Lynn Jenkins English
Call Number: FUNDING INFO CENTER HG 177 .C374 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Check MARQCAT for 2019 print edition availability.
Check MARQCAT for 2008 print edition availability.
Helpful workbook approach to proposal writing for those with limited or no experience in writing grants.

Specific to Direct Mail

Breakthrough Fundraising Letters: How to Write Direct Mail Donation Request Appeals that Attract More Donors, Raise More Money, and Build Stronger Relationships
Call Number: FIC HV 41.2 .S537 2007
How to Write Successful Fundraising Appeals by Mal Warwick
Call Number: Funding Info Center HV 41.2 .W378 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Open Immediately! by Stephen Hitchcock
Call Number: Funding Info Center HV 41.2 .H58 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Revolution in the Mailbox by Mal Warwick
Call Number: Funding Info Center HV 41.2 .W3788 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Check MARQCAT for print availability.