Theology & Religious Studies: Article Search

Top Theology Article Databases

The following are the top journal and magazine article databases for theology and religious studies.  Some of the databases include full-text of the articles indexed.

Metasearch tools for Theology Databases

Theology in EBSCO  from Ebsco

Allows you to search up to four theological databases at once:  ATLA Religion Database & ATLA Serials, Catholic Periodical & Literature Index, Old Testament Abstract, and New Testament Abstracts.

Additional Databases for Theology

Additional Article Databases which may be useful for Theology/Religious Studies:

Google Scholar Search Box

Getting the Articles

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Didn't find the journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.