Literature (in English): Article Search

This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature
Need Help?

Why Articles?

Articles appear in magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers.  Use articles for:

  • most recent research on a topic
  • coverage of very narrow topics
  • coverage of current events
  • contemporary accounts of past events and research

Secondary (Journal) Articles

More about MLAIB

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLA International Bibliography or MLAIB) is best and most important starting place for critical journals articles about all genres of literature. The Marquette Libraries offer access to MLAIB via two database platforms--ProQuest and Literature Online (LION). MLAIB covers more than 4,000 journals, plus books, book essays, and dissertations back to the 1920s.

Access EBSCO's MLAIB here.

Literature Online (LION). In addition to an index to critical articles, LION contains texts (more than 300,000 full text poems, drama, short stories, etc. ) and author biographies and bibliographies, plus the complete contents of MLA International Bibliography and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1926 to present. In addition to the complete indexes, links are provided to the full text of hundreds of journals.

From the LION home screen, click on "Criticism & Reference" in the left column; then select "Criticism" on the next screen; the resulting search screen will allow a combined search of MLAIB and ABELL. If a citation doesn't provide a link to full text option, be sure to use the Findit@MU icon to search MARQCAT for journals, books, and chapters not included in LION.

E-Journals

The Libraries subscribe to hundreds of literature journals in digital format. To review e-journal holdings, check MARQCAT subject: English language and literature e-journals.

Check MARQCAT by the journal's title to connect to online issues and tables of contents. Many of the current e-journals will provide tables of contents by e-mail or RSS. See for example: Callaloo, Postmodern Culture, or Shakespeare Quarterly.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a broad search of diverse scholarly literature--papers, theses, books, and articles, presented in a weighted relevancy ranking. Advanced Search Tips

Getting the Articles

Two common ways to find out if the Libraries have access to the articles you need:

1) You are searching in an article database, but it doesn't have the full-text:  

Click on  Findit@MU button in the article citation. Another window / tab opens with two possible options:

  • Links indicating Find it @MU may have located one or more sources for full text of the article. Click on the links and follow the trail to the article. 
  • Links to search MARQCAT by the journal title or its ISSN number. The journal may be available in print or electronically through a source not searchable by Find it @MU.

2) You already have a specific citation and aren't currently searching in a database:

  • Search for the journal title in MARQCAT, the library catalog;
  • Do not search the title or author of the article, MARQCAT doesn't contain article level information.

The MARQCAT record will indicate what years we have in print and/or online, providing call number locations for the print and links to the e-journal.  Once at the e-journal, navigate to the volume, issue and page that you need.

Didn't find the journal using Find it @MU or MARQCAT?  Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the link at the bottom of the Find it @MU window or tab.