Biomedical Sciences: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Atlases

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

basic concepts and established viewpoints
historical context and relationships to other topics
specialized terms and definitions
data, facts, formulas

Atlases

Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
Call Number: Reference QM25 .N46 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by 12th ed.
Call Number: Reference QM25 .G7 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
The new edition of this classic atlas features updated artwork, more vital tissue colors, new conceptual diagrams, re-colored illustrations, and a more consistent art style. Clinical integration has been enhanced and organization updated.
Basic Human Anatomy: A Regional Study of Human Structure
This online text is a revision of the text Basic Human Anatomy which was published in 1983.
McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by includes DVD
Call Number: Reference QM25 .M23 2008
View MARQCAT Record
Color Atlas of Physiology by 6th ed.
Call Number: QP34.5 .S5313 2009
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Netter's Essential Histology
Call Number: QM551 .O94 2008
Provides a visual overview of normal histology combining classic Netter illustrations and new drawings in the Netter style. Includes original light and electron micrographs and succinct explanatory text. View MARQCAT Record for the table of contents.
The Brain Atlas: A Visual Guide to the Human Central Nervous System by 3rd ed.
Call Number: QM455 .B633 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Organization flows logically from surface anatomy to cross-sections, to regional histology, ending with diagrams of the major neuronal systems. Presents magnetic resonance images side-by-side with corresponding brain slices and uses a direct labeling system, including an alphabetical list of terms for each image.
Netter's Anatomy Flash Cards
Call Number: Reserve QM25 .H35 2002 - check them out
Contains over 300 cards, divided into regional sets, that include bones and joints, muscles, nerves, vessels, and viscera. Each card has a full color Netter illustration on the front and concise text on the back which details the areas of origin/insertion, action, innervation, and anatomical relevance. View MARQCAT Record

Encyclopedias

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Call Number: Reference RC41 .G35 2006 (5 vols.)
Provides accurate, up-to-date medical information aimed at the layperson. Covers diseases, disorders, and conditions; tests and procedures; therapies, alternative treatments and drugs.
Encyclopedia of Human Development, 3 vol.
Call Number: Reference HM626 .E53 2006
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, 4 vol.
Call Number: Reference QP141 .E526 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior Management, 2 vol.
Call Number: Raynor Reference - R726.5 .E53 2004
Covers such topics as adherence to a doctors advice, emotions and health, obesity treatment and prevention, women's health, chronic pain management, stress, and social support.
The Oxford Companion to the Body
Call Number: Reference QM7 .O96 2001
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.

Anatomy.tv

Anatomy.tv from Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides images and video of human anatomy models and scans.
Accessibility notice: the content of this database is visually-based and requires navigation with a mouse: it is not fully accessible to students with visual impairment and/or who require assistive technology. If students are required to use this database in a course, the faculty member is required to insert a statement in the syllabus indicating that students with disabilities will need assistance to fully utilize the database.
Includes Regional, Systemic, and Sports & Therapy modules. Specialty titles include Dentistry, Head & Neck: Basic Neuroanatomy, and Speech Language Pathology. Features interactive 3D human anatomy models (The 3D Real-time Body), MRI scans, quizzes, movies, interactive animations and more. Content may be exported for use in lectures, student presentations or patient handouts.

Dictionaries

Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary by from MedlinePlus
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by 6th ed., 2008
Call Number: Reference R121 .S8 2008
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Includes over 54,000 entries, 1,000 color images and photographs and an anatomical atlas in a glossy insert. CD-ROM includes the features of the print edition in fully searchable format, over 48,000 audio pronunciations, approximately 50 anatomical animations, plus Stedman's Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker.
Concise Medical Dictionary by Jonathan Law; Elizabeth Martin (Editors)
Call Number: R 121 .C675 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Check MARQCAT record for availability.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: Raynor Reference - R121 .D73 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

The 31st edition of this classic reference has more than 124,000 entries and over 1500 images.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version)
Call Number: R121 .T18
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Comprehensive definitions of medical terms. Includes Patient Care sections and dozens of appendices
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Call Number: Reference QP34.5 .M24 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Contains over 13,000 terms covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. 1,200 core terms are indicated for students.