Environmental Ethics: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & More

Environmental Ethics is a broad and timely subject.

Need Help?

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Use background sources to:

find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
get the historical context and relationships to other topics
identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by 2 vols.
Call Number: GE42 .E533 2009
Includes more than 300 peer-reviewed entries, 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index. View MARQCAT Record
Encyclopedia of Earth
Content includes original articles from EoE expert authors, organizations who have offered their existing material for publication (content partners) and free and open content sources such as government agencies whose work falls in the public domain.
Water Encyclopedia by 5 vol., 2005
Provides information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of water and its role in science, engineering and society.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by John Barry (Editor); E. Gene Frankland (Editor)
Call Number: Raynor Reference - GE170 .I55 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Check MARQCAT for print availability.

"Coverage includes: country and regional entries, with country entries giving a concise overview of the history, main actors, issues and policies related to its environmental politics; normative and ethical dimensions of environmental politics, environmental movements, organizations, struggles and individual participants from local to international levels; issues in international environmental politics; prominent individuals (historical and current); and central topics and issues in environmental politics."

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by Chris Park
Call Number: Reference GE10 .P375 2007
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
This dictionary contains over 8,000 entries on all aspects of the environment and conservation. Coverage is uniquely inter-disciplinary. As well as scientific aspects, it also covers social dimensions such as international treaties, movements, trusts, and organizations
A Dictionary of Ecology by Michael Allaby
Call Number: Reference QH540.4 .C66 2010
Check MARQCAT record for availability and location. 4th edition.
Dictionary of Earth Sciences by Michael Allaby (editor)
Publication Date: 2008
VPN required for off campus access. Unlimited user license. 3rd edition.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science
Call Number: Reference TD9 .S74 2007
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
This 3rd edition contains more than 5,000 cross-referenced entries, reflecting the breadth of the field, which includes agriculture, biology, chemistry, engineering, geology, government, law, medicine, microbiology, and toxicology. There are entries on people who are important to environmental management, locations of notable environmental episodes, organizations, and governmental agencies and programs.

Other Reference Books

One Planet, Many People: Atlas of Our Changing Environment by United Nations Environment Programme
Call Number: Reference GE149 .O53 2005
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Through a combination of ground photographs, current and historical satellite images, and narrative based on extensive scientific evidence, this publication illustrates how humans have altered their surroundings and continue to make observable and measurable changes to the global environment.
The Wellbeing of Nations: A Country-by-Country Index of Quality of Life and the Environment
Call Number: Reference GE140 .P74 2001
Check MARQCAT for print availability.