Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | W | Z

A
Accounting
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated May 15, 2012
A guide to resources for accounting and auditing.

Advertising & Public Relations
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated May 14, 2012

African American Studies
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Feb 3, 2012
A guide to resources available in African American Studies. The library is the portal to information.

American Indians - Archival Resources
by Mark Thiel - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012
Guide to archival resources about Native Americans (American Indians/Eskimos of North/South America) in the Marquette Archives and other archival repositories

Anthropology
by Nia Schudson - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012

Atlases & Maps
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
A guide to finding atlases and maps in Raynor Memorial Libraries

B
Biblical Studies
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Mar 16, 2012
Guide to help you find library resources to help with studies of the Bible.

Bioethics
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Sep 27, 2011

Biography and People
by Mary Frenn - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Research tools for locating biographical information

Bioinformatics
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012

Biological Sciences
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012

Biomedical Engineering
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012

Biomedical Sciences
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012

Book Reviews
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012
This guide will help identify reviews of published scholarly or popular books

Books, Publishers & Copyright
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012


Business Basics
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012
Brief introduction to library resources for general business questions.

C
Career Research
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Mar 30, 2012

Chemistry
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated May 1, 2012

Chemistry 1001 Research Paper
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Help with the research paper for Dr. Ryan's Chemistry 1001 class.

Citation Help
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
Sample citations, style guides & other writing resources

Cited Reference Searching & Journal Rankings
by Pat Berge, Martha Jerme, Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
How to locate articles and other documents that have cited a previously published document. Also how to determine where a journal is ranked in relation to others in its field.

Civil and Environmental Engineering
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012

Clinical Laboratory Sciences
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
Guide for information and researching clinical laboratory sciences


Colleges and Universities
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated Mar 3, 2012

Communication
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012

Companies & Finance
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated May 11, 2012

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides
by John Jentz - Last Updated Mar 25, 2012
These reference works offer introductions to subjects, whether they be whole disciplines, prominent topics, or individual thinkers.

Computer Science
by Keven Riggle - Last Updated Mar 14, 2012
Are you looking for • information on computer terms • programming languages • is Java something other than caffeine? If so, this is the place to start.

Consumer Health
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated May 1, 2012
Use this guide to find information on maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and on living well with common health conditions.

Controversial Issues
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Guide to finding information on alternative viewpoints on controversial issues.

Criminology and Criminal Justice
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated Aug 3, 2011

D
Dead Sea Scrolls
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
Selected introductory library resources

Dental Rounds
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Sep 27, 2011
This is a beginning for underclassmen. The D3's work is more search-intensive and I am working on help for you; in the meantime feel free to contact me. I'll try to set regular office hours; we can also work in small groups to improve efficiency.

Dentistry
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
All aspects of dentistry from chair-side tools to evidence based dentistry to board exam preparation to practice management

Dictionaries & Thesauri
by John Jentz - Last Updated Mar 25, 2012

Directories
by Nia Schudson - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Search for Information about People, Businesses, Government, Websites & More!

Dispute Resolution
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011

E
Economics
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012

Education
by Pat Berge - Last Updated May 11, 2012
Guide to finding books, articles, statistics, curriculum materials and more. This page is updated and added to frequently.

Electrical and Computer Engineering
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012

Encyclopedias and Almanacs
by John Jentz - Last Updated Mar 25, 2012
Find general and specialized encyclopedias and almanacs, both in print and online.

EndNote Web
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Oct 18, 2011

Engineering Management
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012

ENGL 1002: News Literacy
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012

ENGL 1002: Visual Literacy
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012

Environmental Ethics
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Environmental Ethics is a broad and timely subject.

ESL Resources
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
English as a Second Language (ESL) resources

ESL: General Research Guide
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
English as a Second Language (ESL): General Research Guide

Europe--What's Next?
by John Jentz - Last Updated May 15, 2012
This Research Guide supports an interdisciplinary forum held at Marquette University on February 29, 2012, entitled "What's Next for Europe?" Special thanks to Claire Seigworth for her help in building this site.

Evaluating Sources
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
What makes books, articles, and other sources useful and how to evaluate them.

Evidence Based Practice - Health Care
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated May 16, 2012
A guide to evidence based practice resources.

F
Faculty Guide to Libraries
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Jan 13, 2012
Everything faculty need to know about services and collections.

FIC Bibliographies
by Mary Frenn - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012

FINE ARTS
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated Mar 21, 2012


French Language & Literature
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012

G
General Research
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 17, 2012

German
by John Jentz, Valerie Beech - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
This guide offers resources on German language, literature, culture, history, and current affairs.

Getting Published
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated May 3, 2012
This guide supports the writing and marketing of scholarly or literary works

Graduate Student's Guide to Libraries
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated May 3, 2012
This guide outlines services and resources for graduate students in all discplines

Guatemala
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012

H
Haiti
by Pat Berge, Molly Larkin, Scott Mandernack - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012

HCOP - Health Career Opportunity Program
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
A federally funded program that provides opportunities for disadvantaged students with the goal of increasing diversity and cultural awareness in the health professions.

Health Sciences
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
A guide to research sources in the health sciences.

Health Statistics
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated May 16, 2012
Includes key sources for accessing health statistics.

History
by John Jentz - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Honduras
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

Human Genetics
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated May 1, 2012

I

Industry Information
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Interlibrary Loan Notices
by John Lunt, Vicki Meinecke - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011
If you received a cancellation notice from Interlibrary Loan, this guide provides additional information to help you locate the item at Marquette.

International Business
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated May 2, 2012
Suggestions for international market research, and finding information about different countries.

Islamic Studies
by John Jentz - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This Research Guides provides access to resources at Marquette Libraries and on the Internet about the Islam and the Mideast.

J
Journalism
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Guide to doing research for Journalism

L
Language and Linguistics
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Aug 8, 2011

Leadership Studies
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
.

Learning Objects
by Eric Kowalik - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
Repository of Marquette created learning objects as well as links to external repositories.


Lewis & Clark and the Indian Country
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
A companion resource guide for the traveling exhibit curated by The Newberry Library and made available by the American Library Association

LGBTQ Resources
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning resources

Library and Information Science
by Keven Riggle - Last Updated Nov 18, 2011

Links to Articles for D2L, Wikis, etc.
by Martha Jerme, Eric Kowalik - Last Updated May 4, 2012

Literature (in English)
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated May 3, 2012
This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature

Little Rock Nine
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

Louisa May Alcott
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Aug 2, 2011
Resources by and about the author and her times.

M
Marketing
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated Apr 29, 2012

Marquette's Mission
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
This guide offers resources for Mission Week and the mission of Marquette University, including faith, spirituality, finding God, and social justice.

Math and Statistics
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Guide to finding books, articles, web sites, podcasts and more.

Mechanical Engineering
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Apr 21, 2012

Military Studies
by Valerie Beech, John Jentz - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012

Milwaukee and Wisconsin
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012

Mobile Devices
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012

Multimedia
by Eric Kowalik - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
A collection of resources geared toward helping users with audio and visual research needs.

N
News/Weather/Sports
by Mary Frenn - Last Updated May 23, 2011

P
Patents
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Jun 30, 2011
How to search and obtain patents

Peace Like a River
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Aug 31, 2010

Performing Arts
by Nia Schudson - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012
Research Guide for Performing Arts, including theater, film, dance, and music

Persepolis
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
Resource Guide for the novel, Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi

Philosophy
by Pat Doyle - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012
A guide to research resources for PHILOSOPHY--especially e-resources.

Physics
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012

Plagiarism & How to Avoid It
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

Political Science [A Work in Progress....]
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Jul 25, 2011
Guide to Resources and Reference Assistance for Political Science

PRST 2110 (McAvoy): assignment 1
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011

Psychological Tests and Measures
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.

Psychology
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
Guide to information for the field of Psychology. This page is updated and added to frequently.

Publishers, & Publishing
by Keven Riggle, Mary Frenn, Susan Hopwood, Sapna Sumanth - Last Updated Nov 18, 2011
This guide contains resources on publishers and the publishing industry.

Q
Quotations
by John Jentz - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
Use these guides to find a quote on any subject or to identifiy the source of one your already have.

R
RefWorks
by Rose Trupiano, Martha Jerme, Pat Berge - Last Updated May 16, 2012
Links and help information regarding RefWorks

Research 101
by Pat Berge, Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Oct 6, 2011

S
Saint John's Bible
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012

Scanners and Scanning
by Keven Riggle - Last Updated Nov 18, 2011

Science, General & Popular
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Jan 9, 2012

Smoking Cessation
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Resources to help you quit smoking.

Social Innovation
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Feb 23, 2012

Social Welfare and Justice
by Mary Frenn - Last Updated Dec 1, 2011
Print and online resources in Social Welfare and Justice.

Sociology
by Nia Schudson - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012


Spanish Language and Literature
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Apr 4, 2012
Guide to finding literary criticism (journal articles / books) on Spanish, Hispanic American literature, Spanish language newspaper articles, information about Spanish /Hispanic American culture and linguistics of Span. language.

SPSS Resources
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012

Standards, Regulations and Codes
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
How to identify and obtain technical standards, specifications, regulations, and codes.

Supply Chain Management
by Valerie Beech - Last Updated May 7, 2012

T
Tax Forms & Information
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
Links to the tax forms and instructions that you need.

Test Prep Resources
by Pat Berge - Last Updated Aug 15, 2011
Resources for undergraduate, graduate and professional school test preparation.

The Other Wes Moore
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated Jul 12, 2011
Reader's guide for Wes Moore's 2010 book about the man who shares his name.

Theology & Religious Studies
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012

Toxicology
by Rosemary Del Toro - Last Updated Nov 7, 2011

Turnitin/ Academic Honesty
by Suzy Weisman - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
A Turnitin.com How-to Guide for Instructors and Students. Contains Information on Plagiarism, How to Properly Cite Sources, and the Academic Integrity Policies at Marquette.

W
Wellness Programming Resources
by Martha Jerme - Last Updated Mar 14, 2012

What's Next Latin America?
by Alberto Herrera - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
This Guide supports an interdisciplinary forum to be held at Marquette University during the Fall semester of 2012.

Women's and Gender Studies
by Nia Schudson - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This guide is designed to help you find resources in Women's and Gender Studies.

Writing
by Susan Hopwood - Last Updated May 3, 2012
Practical sources for writers, as well as rhetoric teachers

Z
Zotero
by Rose Trupiano - Last Updated Mar 10, 2011
Information on bibliographic citation manager program specially created for the humanities.

Library News

Find us on Facebook!



Database Trials

Check out the latest database trials.


Research Guides Tag Cloud

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Rosemary Del Toro
Contact Info
Dean's Office, Rm 309
Raynor Memorial Libraries
phone: 414-288-3944
email me
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2012 Marquette University