This is the "Asthma & Allergies" page of the "Asthma & Allergies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Asthma & Allergies  

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2011 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/asthma Print Guide Email Alerts
Asthma & Allergies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
100 Questions & Answers about Allergies
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC585 .C67 2011

Cover Art
100 Questions & Answers about Asthma
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC591 .P574 2011

Cover Art
Allergies and Asthma: What Every Parent Needs to Know
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RJ386 .A45 2011

 
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


  


 

Welcome

According to the American Lung Association, "asthma is a lung disease that makes breathing difficult for millions of Americans, both young and old. There is no cure for asthma, but the good news is it can be managed and treated so you can live a normal, healthy life." People with asthma often also have allergies.  This guide includes selected resources that provide information on asthma and allergies, including symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment options.  Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.

American Lung Association.  Asthma.  Retrieved April 12, 2011 from http://www.lungusa.org/lung-disease/asthma/

 

Asthma Basics

 

Web Sites

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology - Conditions & Treatments
Content includes the "Virtual Allergist", a directory of allergists and immunologists, and consumer information on topics related to asthma and allergies.

American Lung Association - Asthma
Provides guidance on living well with asthma, and information for parents of children with asthma.

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
Includes information on asthma and allergies, support groups, "Ask the Allergist" and Spanish language materials.

CDC - Asthma
Provides an overview of asthma, information on indoor and outdoor triggers, management and treatment.

HealthyChildren.org - Allergies & Asthma
Provides information from the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Mayo Clinic - Allergies
Topics covered include causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, and lifestyle and home remedies.

Mayo Clinic - Asthma
Provides information on symptoms, risk factors, treatments, prevention, and coping and support.

MedlinePlus - Allergy
Provides links to information on symptoms, causes, diagnosis and treatments.

MedlinePlus - Asthma
Links to resources with information on symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment, research and multimedia tools.

MARQCAT

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books, DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns in print or electronic format.

To locate additional resources, enter relevant keywords, for example, asthma, allergies, etc.

More search options

  


 

Asthma

 

DVDs

Asthma: Fighting to Breath
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC591 .A874 2003

Healthy Homes : Assessing Your Indoor Environment
Call Number: LAW RESERVE RA770 .H433 2007

 
 

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. 
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

DIRLINE (Directory of Health Organizations) from National Institutes of Health
 
Provides approximately 10,000 records with location and descriptive information for government agencies, information and referral centers, professional societies, self-help groups, and academic and research institutions in health and biomedicine.  Topics include maternal and child health, diseases and conditions, and health services research and technology assessment.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases

  


Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2012 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip