This is the "Alcohol/Drug Abuse" page of the "Alcohol/Drug Abuse" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alcohol/Drug Abuse  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2010 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/alcohol Print Guide Email Alerts
Alcohol/Drug Abuse Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Local Resources

Al-Anon Family Groups of Southeastern Wisconsin

Alcoholics Anonymous Milwaukee

Impact Alcohol & Drug Abuse
Provides free, confidential alcohol and drug consultation and referral services.

Metro Milwaukee Narcotics Anonymous

  • 24-Hr Milwaukee Info Line: 1-866-913-3837
  • Statewide Info Line: 1-800-240-0276
 

Books

Cover Art
A Million Little Pieces
Call Number: MEMORIAL LVL 4 UPPER HV5831.M6 F74 2003

Cover Art
Alcoholism
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC565 .G53 2010


Cover Art
Chasing the High
Call Number: MEMORIAL LVL 4 UPPER HV5805.K42 A3 2008

Cover Art
Forbidden Drugs
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RM316 .R65 2009

Cover Art
Take Control of Your Drinking
Call Number: MEMORIAL LVL 4 UPPER HV5035 .L48 2007

Cover Art
Understanding Addiction
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC533 .H465 2000

Cover Art
White Knuckles and Wishful Thinking
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC565 .D79 2000

  


 

Welcome

This guide includes selected resources that provide information on alcohol and drug abuse, including prevention, treatment, and organizations providing support.  Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.

 

Binge Drinking

 

Web Sites

Al-Anon/Alateen
Includes a blog, podcasts, and information about Al-Anon meetings for friends and familes of alcoholics.

Alcholics Anonymous
Includes information on meetings, books, pamphlets,and audiovisual materials.

Mayo Clinic -  Alcoholism
Provides information on symptoms, causes, risk factors, complications, treatment and coping.

Mayo Clinic - Drug Addiction
Discusses symptoms, causes, risk factors, complications, and treatment options.

MedlinePlus - Substance Abuse Problems
Links to a number of resources with information on alcohol and drug abuse.

Narcotics Anonymous
Includes links to articles, reports and websites, and information on meetings and phone lines.

National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence
Provides information on substance abuse, including prevention and treatment options.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcholism - Pamphlets and Brochures
Includes free online publications for the public on a variety of alcohol-related topics.

National Intitute on Drug Abuse
Includes information for students, teachers, parents, health professionals and researchers on drugs of abuse and related topics.

Partnership at Drugfree.org
Provides information on alcohol and drug abuse prevention, intervention, treatment and recovery for parents and caregivers of teens and young adults.

SAMSHA
Provides information on alcohol and drug abuse from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

 

MARQCATplus

Search for books, articles, images, DVDs, & more...

  


 

Alcohol is commonly abused

 

DVDs

Do I Drink Too Much? Human Biology, Genetics, and Alcohol
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC565 .D59 2010

Drinking Apart : Families Under the Influence
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD HV5132 .D75 2003

Hooked : America on Meth
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC564.5.W65 A23 2006

The Addictive Personality
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC533 .A335 2008

The Doctor & the Reverend: From the Badlands to Redemption
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD HV5822 .H4 A23 2006

The Next Generation
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD HV5825 .N49 2003

Understanding Addictions
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC564 .U65 2003

 

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. 
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases

  


Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip