Research Guides: African-American History Month: Home

In Our Special Collections

One of our collections--African American Catholics of the United States--contains over 200 images of African American clergy, religious, and laity, plus others in ministry to them, in parishes and schools, religious communities, and lay organizations since 1900.

Relevant Articles and Databases

African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947 from Gale This link opens in a new window
Contains the files of the National Negro Congress, its leaders, and related organizations. 1933-1947
African American Communities from Adam Matthew This link opens in a new window
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns & cities in North Carolina, presents African American experience through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.
African American Historical Serials Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association this collection contains reports and annuals from African American organizations, agencies, and periodicals published between 1829 and 1922.
African American Newspapers from Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 11 African-American historical newspapers 1827-1957.
Details on publications available here: http://www.accessible-archives.com/collections/african-american-newspapers/
African American Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nine full-text African American newspapers from the 20th century.
Full-text archives of: Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003; Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Cleveland Call & Post, 1934-1991; Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993; Norfolk Journal & guide, 1922-1993; Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2001; Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002. Individual newspapers can be searched via MARQCAT.
Black Literature Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Included in the Black Studies Center. Index of the Black Literature microfiche collection. Searches fiction, poetry and literary reviews in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Black Studies Center from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches several small databases at once: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, The Chicago Defender 1910-1975, and Black Literature Index.
Black Studies in Video from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video is an award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Black Studies Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Periodicals Database is part of Black Studies Center. By default, your search will be limited to Black Studies Periodicals Database content only.
Black Thought and Culture from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Full-text books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the African-American community from the earliest times to the present.
Covers: black nationalism, miscegenation, the black athlete, civil rights, apartheid, the Black Panther party, the Negritude movement, the NAACP, birth control, the vote, urban ghettos vs. the rural South, strategies of protest and demonstration, etc.
History Vault: Black freedom struggle in the 20th century from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Module one (Federal government records) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module, Federal government records, Supplement, adds civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies. The third and fourth modules (Organizational records and personal papers, part 1-2) are comprised of collections from federal government agencies and contain records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement
Catalog link continues 3 links to content
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, & reference books of historical importance in black studies.
Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides a variety of resources on the Black Experience in the United States and also in all of the Americas.
This searches the complete contents of Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a unique database detailing the rich tapestry of the African experience throughout the Americas. It comprises interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience accompanied by a timeline, images, video clips, reference works and other selected research materials.