ADVE 4997 - Ad Campaigns: Home

Spring 2020 Advertising Campaigns class

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Related Guide Pages

Subject Librarian

Valerie Beech

Email Me

Contact:

414.288.1998

Subjects: Accounting, Advertising, Business, Career Research, Citation Searching, Communication, Economics, Finance, French, German, Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Linguistics, Management, Marketing, Public Relations, Social Innovation/Entrepreneurship, Spanish, Strategic Communication

About this guide

This guide was prepared for the spring 2021 ADVE 4997 course with Dave Wilcox.

Use this guide as a starting point to get to the resources discussed in class. The industry reports linked below should give some context for the client's industry.

Generac
The client company's website.

Secondary research

Notice that this product is sometimes called a "standby generator" as well as a home or residential backup generator.

Leading Residential Portable Generator Makers Worldwide, 2019
Originally from QY Research. In Market Share Reporter. Ed. Virgil L. Burton, III and Robert S. Lazich. 32nd ed. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2022. Business Insights: Essentials.
Leading Gas Generator Makers in North America, 2017
Originally from Frost & Sullivan. In Market Share Reporter. Ed. Robert S. Lazich and Virgil L. Burton, III. 30th ed. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2020. Business Insights: Essentials.
Leading Electric Motor and Motor Generator Makers, 2016
Originally from Plunkett Research. In Market Share Reporter. Ed. Robert S. Lazich and Virgil L. Burton, III. 29th ed. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2019. Business Insights: Essentials.
Prime Mover Generator Sets Manufacturing
IBISWorld US Specialized Industry Report OD6044; by Devin Savaskan, February 2020.
This report may be more industry background than you need, but IBISWorld is a respected publisher of this type of content.
Motor and Generator Manufacturing
Useful for providing context and background on types of motors/generators.
In The Encyclopedia of American Industries. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2020.

News and trade articles

I'm also including here a few news and/or trade articles about backup generators. These can provide a sense of what are the issues that interest consumers.

Home Standby Generators
2020. Consumer Reports, 85,(9), 16.
Power up for generator safety
2017. Safety Now, (377), 1.
COVID-19, wildfire concerns power Generac's home backup generator sales
Hering, G. (2020). COVID-19, wildfire concerns power generac's home backup generator sales. SNL Energy Power Daily.
Climate-Proofing Your Home: Improving Your Backup Power Supply.
Woody, T. (2021). Climate-Proofing Your Home: Improving Your Backup Power Supply. Bloomberg.Com.

Databases to use to find more:

ABI/Inform Collection from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, plus a variety of other topics. Full text provided for 7,000+ publications. Mostly 1971 to present.
Includes: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform Global, and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry.
Business Source Premier from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.